More Important Than Lunch

comment 1
Uncategorized

FullSizeRender (6)Our daughter Maria never ceases to amaze me!  She is truly a gift from God, my little rock at times.

She was right by my side 2 years ago when a car ran a red light and T-boned us, resulting in a collapsed lung, broken ribs and a broken clavicle for me.  Thank the Lord, just some abdominal bruises for her!

We never knew what hit us that day. As we sat there waiting for the ambulance, I was shaking, and in so much pain. Maria kept patting my knee, comforting me.  She was telling me that I was going to be alright and that help was coming. What a blessing she was to me that day.  My little rock.

Yesterday, she was my little rock once again. We went to visit my Mother in the nursing home. For the past couple of days, my brother and I have noticed that our Mother has just not been herself. When I went to see her on Sunday, she was sitting up, but she would not open her eyes for me.  I knew something was not right. It appeared she was extremely tired.  My brother and his wife went Sunday afternoon, and she was the same way with them.

Maria and I went yesterday to check on Mom.  She was at the table where they eat, and her head was bowed over as she was sitting up in her wheelchair.  I tried to get her to eat, but I didn’t have much luck.  I went to tell the nurse that was on duty that my brother and I were concerned with our Mom, how she had been for the past couple of days.  She came and got Mom, took her vitals, and called her Doctor.  The nurse told me that he wanted her taken to the hospital to be checked out.

We waited for the ambulance to come and get Mom.  The trip from the nursing home to the hospital is not far at all, maybe 5 minutes. It was getting late.  Maria and I had not eaten anything since early yesterday morning.  Knowing we would pass a Wendy’s, I figured I could get Maria something to eat on the way.  I knew it would take a few minutes for them to get my Mom settled into the emergency room.

So, I asked Maria; “Hey, you want me to stop and get you anything for lunch?”  Her response; “No, going to the hospital is more important than lunch.”  I looked at my daughter and was just amazed at that moment.  God was reminding me once again what a blessing she is, and such a little rock for me at times.

They weren’t the least bit concerned for their lunch, the 5 thousand who came to hear Jesus.

“From the surrounding towns people went out on foot, running, and got there ahead of them. ( Jesus and the disciples had gotten in a boat to go off to a remote place to rest) When Jesus arrived, he saw this huge crowd. At the sight of them, his heart broke ~ like sheep with no shepherd they were. He went right to work teaching them. When his disciples thought this had gone on long enough ~ it was now quite late in the day ~ they interrupted: “We are a long way out in the country, and it’s very late. Pronounce a benediction and send these folks off so they can get some supper.”  Jesus said, “You do it. Fix supper for them.” Matthew 14:13-16 

 We all know this bible story by heart.  With 5 loaves and 2 fish, Jesus fed this huge crowd of 5 thousand.  It was past lunch, and probably way past suppertime.  It doesn’t say anywhere in the bible where one person complained that they were hungry!  From surrounding towns, they just didn’t walk, they ran!  They came to be fed, but not with food, but by Jesus himself!  They knew that what he had to say was more important than lunch.

The 5 thousand were about the Father’s business.  Yesterday, my Maria was about the Father’s business.  She knew that going to the hospital and help taking care of her grandmother was more important than lunch!  God knew that Maria’s presence with me was more important than lunch.

They have determined that my Mother has a UTI.  This condition is so hard on older people.  When we left the hospital, she was getting fluids and an antibiotic.  She was resting well.  Maria and I will be going and seeing my Mother at the hospital this morning, hopefully and prayerfully finding her much better.

The picture above is of Maria with her Sunday School class as they were wading in the Hiwassee river this past Sunday.  Her smile says it all, how she enjoys being a part of such a sweet class!  She is my little rock sent from God!

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

  1. We all need more “rocks” in our life to point us to The Rock! Isaiah 26:4 – “Trust in the LORD forever, for the LORD, the LORD, is the Rock eternal.”

Leave a Reply

