My Great God Cares For Me

comments 2
Uncategorized

image As I was going to see my Mother in the nursing home one afternoon, crossing the Hiwassee river, something caught the corner of my eye that was up on one of the tall telephone polls that graced the bridge.

Since no cars were passing me, I did a double take.  Was that a nest? Not only one, but two of them!  If those were nests, they were the biggest bird nests I had ever seen!

On my way back home, I made a mental note to look again.  I slowed down and took a picture.

Things like this fascinate me. Why? I have no idea, except for the fact that I am just marveled by God’s beautiful handy work in nature.

Feathers lying on the ground catch my eye also, and remind me of this verse….

“Look at the birds in the sky. They do not store food for winter. They don’t plant gardens. They do not sow or reap—and yet, they are always fed because your heavenly Father feeds them. And you are even more precious to Him than a beautiful bird. If He looks after them, of course He will look after you.” Matthew 6:26 The Voice


image

 

I have this small bird feather on my bathroom mirror at home to remind me that yes, God cares for the birds of the air…but how much more He cares for us!

Sitting here in the hospital with my Mother who is suffering from dementia, I can’t help but question my God with the “why?”….”why God?”…”why is my Mom having to suffer with this horrible disease?”

On my way to see my Mother this morning, a small quiet voice whispered in my heart….

“Your Mother still has work to do here on earth…I have a plan for her, even in her old age, there is still a plan”

Could it be that God is trying to show me and my family that even into my Mother’s old age, He still cares for her…perhaps He is wanting to remind us that by her still being here, shows us He is soverign. He is Lord. He cares for her. He will never leave or forsake her…and by reminding us of this, that He will never leave or forsake us either, when or if He allows us to grow old.

“And you are even more precious to him than a beautiful bird. If he looks after them, of course He will look after you!”

Those of us who are still on this earth, are all a part of God’s plan.  He has a work for us to do.

These are words to a song written by Regi Stone and Jeff Ferguson that I have sang with a choir many times….it’s one of those beautiful songs that God just lays in your heart to rest forever.

“Autumn breeze starts to dance. Forest trees clap their hands. Eagles cry, oceans roar; worshipping the Lord. I join the praise, yet stand amazed that God, who’s so great, would know what I need. He’s always there. He hears my prayer. My great God cares for me.

Nations rise. Kingdoms fall. God reigns high above them all. Knees will bow, tongues confess to His holiness. I join the praise, yet stand amazed that God, who’s so great, would know what I need. He’s always there. He hears my prayer. My great God cares for me. He’s always there. He hears my prayer. My great God cares for me.”

What a beautiful reminder that our great God cares for us!

“Even when you are old, I will be the same. Even when your hair has turned gray, I will take care of you. I made you and will take care of you. I will carry you and save you.” Isaiah 46:4 NCV

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Beth, It is good to hear from you again! One of the best “gifts” I received when my mom passed away was when the pastor mentioned my mom’s ministry. It took me by surprise, but it shouldn’t have. Illness (it wasn’t dementia) had taken so much from my mom, but she had been able to still crochet until a few months before her death. There wasn’t much else she could do, but she had all the time in the world and she would crotchet gifts for others.

    Your line about having “work to do” is so true for all of us. It’s just that the “work” can look very different from person to person. I am so thankful to our Abba Daddy that He is more than able to comfort you in your family situation!

    • Thank you so much Debbie…sitting here with my Mother gave me the time to reflect about how our Great God truly cares for us in each and every situation and seasons of life. I hope you are doing well. I always enjoy reading your blog posts.

Leave a Reply

