The Calming Effect of A Holy Pasture

comment 1
Uncategorized

IMG_6008As I walked into the health food store, my eyes started darting from aisle to aisle wondering where the supplements were to calm a person down.  Then I started wondering where the supplements were to give you energy.  And is there anything that they have to pep you up and calm you down at the same time?

Sometimes my anxious fears give way to a feeling of being “plum tuckered out”, as that old saying goes, which means a loss of energy! At those times that I am anxious, I need to be calmed down…yes, a viscous cycle of this I know!

Have you ever felt this way?  Am I even making any sense?

Confession is good for the soul right?  Well here’s mine…I use therapeutic essential oils, yes I am an oiler.  Oiler?  I’m oily?  I sniff therefore I oil?  OK, anyway you say that, you can’t help but snicker just a little.  I may not be as dedicated as a lot of other “oilers”, but those I work with will tell you that on any given day, I have lined up on my desk a variety of oils that I sniff, roll on, or drop on my tongue. I even had a student one day say, “I smell pizza and spaghetti.”  Yep, that was me.  I had just lathered on my throat the oil Oregano for a sore throat.

The essential oils boast of helping with what ever ails a person, much like that of what your local health food store offers.  And I am by no way dissing either one of these helpful venues for supplements, because I do believe that both really have things to offer that truly help with tiredness, and anxieties in a more natural way.

I know what God’s word says about rest;

“Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life.  I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me ~ watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you.  Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.”  Matthew 11:28-30 MSG

But a lot of times we forget this don’t we?  Usually for me, what happens is that the enemy beats me down so, that he diverts my attention so that I won’t even think of this beautiful holy promise from the one who loves me more than anything!

Just saying these 4 three words have such a calming effect!

Unforced Rhythms of Grace…Unforced Rhythms of Grace…Unforced Rhythms of Grace!

Unforced rhythms of God’s grace!

Anytime I see a beautiful rolling pasture, a sense of peace just floods my soul! I love to experience God’s handy work in nature, there’s nothing like it is there?

Right after God led Moses and the Israelites right through the middle of the Red sea…”Israel looked at the Egyptian dead, washed up on the shore of the sea, and realized the tremendous power that God brought against the Egyptians. The people were in reverent awe before God and trusted God and his servant Moses.” Exodus 14:31 MSG

What happened next, was a song in which the Israelites praised God with. This small part of the song caught my eye one day…

…”the people you redeemed, you led in merciful love; You guided them under your protection to your holy pasture.”  Exodus 15:13 MSG

I got to thinking, what does a “holy pasture” look like?

Listen, if we are a child of the King, we already know that answer! The enemy can cloud or minds to make us think we don’t know! David knew what that “holy pasture” was, and he wrote it down to remind each of us at times when we are tired and weary.  When we’re looking for ways to calm ourselves down, or even ways to pep ourselves up.

“God, my shepherd! I don’t need a thing. You have bedded me down in lush meadows, you find me quiet pools to drink from. True to your word, you let me catch my breath and send me in the right direction. Even when the way goes through Death Valley, I’m not afraid when you walk at my side. Your trusty shepherd’s crook makes me feel secure. You serve me a six-course dinner right in front of my enemies. You revive my drooping head; my cup brims with blessing. Your beauty and love chase after me every day of my life. I’m back home in the house of God for the rest of my life.”  Psalm 23 MSG

May the Lord bless you and keep you on your journey. ~ Beth

1 Comment

  1. May we never forget to take our Vitamin “J” for Jesus! Even a little dose goes a long way! (I am not an “oiler,” but I do love my Bath and Body Works shower gel. :))

Leave a Reply

