What Does Trustworthy Mean To You?

comment 1
Uncategorized

IMG_5883As I was reading in the book of John the other day, I came across a few verses that I just can’t seem to get off of my mind.  I keep thinking about them, but I know that’s always a good thing.  I figure the Lord has a word for me, and he wants me to chew on these verses for awhile, and apply them to my life!

No big revelation here, but you know how I love The Message version of God’s word…and hey, whatever version gets you into his word, then that’s the version for you.

These are the verses that are lingering on my mind these days…

“During the time he (Jesus) was in Jerusalem, those days of the Passover Feast, many people noticed the signs he was displaying and, seeing they pointed straight to God, entrusted their lives to him.  But, Jesus didn’t entrust his life to them.  He knew them inside and out, knew how untrustworthy they were.  He didn’t need any help in seeing right through them.” John 2:23-25 The Message

First of all…let’s look at what the word “trustworthy” means, then the word, “untrustworthy.”

Trustworthy: reliable, dependable, honest, honorable, upright, principled, true, truthful, as good as one’s word, ethical, virtuous, incorruptible, unimpeachable, sensible, levelheaded, loyal, faithful, staunch, steadfast, trusty; safe, sound, reputable, discreet; informal on the level, straight-up.

You’d think that the word “untrustworthy” would be right the opposite, and although it is, here is the definition that I found…

Untrustworthy: dishonest, deceitful, double-dealing, treacherous, traitorous, two-faced, dishonorable, unprincipled, unscrupulous, corrupt, slippery; unreliable, undependable, fly-by-night, capricious, fickle;  informal hinky. 

And if you happen to be wondering what “hinky” means, well, it means dishonest or suspect!

After seeing the signs that Jesus was displaying, even seeing that those signs pointed straight to God, many “entrusted” their lives to him….But…but, Jesus did not entrust his life to them!  Why? Because, God’s word says that He knew them inside and out, knew how untrustworthy they were.  He didn’t need any help seeing right through them.

Wow! These verses have really made me stop and think, can Jesus trust me? What does that even look like, and how would that even feel if Jesus didn’t entrust his life to me!

Who we are can be found lying within our heart.  Every area of our heart, even the deep crevices that we think could never be known about….but Jesus knows!  He knows each and every one of us inside and out.

Are we “trustworthy” for Jesus?  Can he rely on us to carry out his work?  Can he trust that we will allow his light to shine deep within us for others to see?

Paul was encouraging the believers in Ephesus  “not to be going along with the crowd, the empty-headed, mindless crowd.  They’ve refused for so long to deal with God that they’ve lost touch not only with God but with reality itself.”  Ephesians 4:17-18 MSG  (Sounds like a word he has for us in this day and age too!)

“You learned Christ!  My assumption is that you have paid careful attention to him, been well instructed in the truth precisely as we have it in Jesus.  Since, then, we do not have the excuse of ignorance, everything ~ and I do mean everything ~ connected with that old way of life has to go.  It’s rotten through and through.  Get rid of it!  And then take on an entirely new way of life ~ a God-fashioned life, a life renewed from the inside and working itself into your conduct as God accurately reproduces his character in you.” Ephesians 4:20-24 MSG

If we have an entirely new way of life in Christ, a God~fashioned life, a life renewed from the inside, it will work itself into our conduct as God accurately reproduces his character in us….He knows if we are truly “trustworthy.”  I pray that these verses have encouraged you as they have me!

Oh Papa God, that I may be found to be “trustworthy” for you!  I pray that your Holy Spirit will penetrate deep within my heart!  Help me to pay careful attention to Jesus each and every day!  Draw me close to your side, I pray that your light will shine forth for others to see.  Amen

May the Lord bless you and keep you on your journey ~ Beth

 

 

 

1 Comment

  1. Whew… being trustworthy is a tall order. Thank God that He gives us His Holy Spirit to reside in us. We can be trustworthy only because God was trustworthy first!

Leave a Reply

