That Age Old Question

comment 1
Uncategorized

IMG_5692That age old question that you were probably asked at sometime in your life….either jokingly or seriously.  “What 3 things would you have with you if you were stranded on a desert island?”

Well…what would they be?

When you were asked that question, I’m sure you rolled the scenario around in your head.  I have a good friend, that I know absolutely without a doubt, one of the three things she would have,  would be a Coke Zero!  And another friend, it would be her quilting paraphernalia.

A favorite book?  Maybe some fresh glazed donuts from the local bakery would come to mind (it’s sure coming to my mind right now!)  How about a TV that is set on a continuous run of “I Love Lucy” episodes.  Or, how about every season of  “The Love Boat”? (yeah, that’s coming into my mind, don’t judge me!)  Knowing that TV show ran from September 24, 1977 ~ May 24, 1986…that’s a lot of seasons and a lot of Love Boat!  Perhaps a little of “Fantasy Island?”  Oh, I really didn’t like that show as well, I just couldn’t resist that one.

What also comes to mind is my iPhone.  I would have Google at my fingertips!  I could find out how to make a fire, catch fish and build shelter.  I could then sit back and watch “I Love Lucy” and “The Love Boat”!  (I better hope that island has a cell tower!!!)

I came across something Paul said in 2 Corinthians from The Message the other morning.  This particular scripture has stuck with me and it won’t leave…but I’m so thankful that it hasn’t!  I love it when God’s word just sticks to your gut, heart, soul and mind at times.  I know it’s The Holy Spirit revealing himself to me, comforting me and just plain old loving me!

At the end of Paul’s second letter to the Corinthians, he had this to say in his parting words…

“Be cheerful.  Keep things in good repair.  Keep your spirits up.  Think in harmony.  Be agreeable.  Do all that, and the God of love and peace will be with you for sure.”  2 Corinthians 13:11-12  The Message

Although I love those two verses, that I just shared, those aren’t the ones that stuck on my heart for the past several days….it’s the verse that follows that has…

“The amazing grace of the Master, Jesus Christ, the extravagant love of God, the intimate friendship of the Holy Spirit, be with all of you.” { verse 14}

I kept reading this verse over and over.  Three things, these three things that I have…

1. The amazing grace of the Master, Jesus Christ!

2. The extravagant love of God!

3. The intimate friendship of the Holy Spirit!

Now don’t ask me how I have connected those 3 things with being stranded on a desert island.  I guess my mind just wandered into that scenario and that “age old question.”

I kept thinking that if I only needed 3 things in this life, it would be those 3 things that I do have!  What more do we need friends?  That is ALL we need…right now, or on a desert island!

May the Lord bless you and keep you on your journey. ~ Beth

 

1 Comment

  1. Perhaps you could count the three aspects of faith as one thing wrapped up in the Trinity and still pick two more things on that desert island! But of course, when we have Jesus, God, and the Holy Spirit, we really don’t “need” anything else!

Leave a Reply

