Loaded Oven Hot Diggity-Dogs

comment 1
Uncategorized

 Piled high with chili, cheese and onions, these “hot diggity-dogs are baked right in the oven.  Yum!IMG_5413

Even if you’re not a hot dog fan, you may change your mind after you’ve eaten one of these!  Every blue moon I may eat a hot dog.  And on those occasional blue moons, I head to Sonic and get their “Chicago” dog.  Yes, sometimes I suffer afterwards, but you have to live a little right?  Growing up, I wasn’t much of a hot-dog fan, and always preferred just the chili, mustard and onions on the bun, (without the dog of course.)

Most kids are hot dog fans, with the traditional mustard and ketchup combo.  But, that’s not always the norm for the typical 5 year old!  When the month of May rolls around every year, the Kindergarten classes where I work, all get together and have a “camp-out” day.  We have grilled hot dogs.  Make s’mores and let the kiddos run like crazy!  Yep, a fun day that was earned for hard work through out the year, an end of the year celebration.  I’ve learned, there’s the “mustard” only kid, the “ketchup” only kid, and then the “dog and bun” only kid.  And even though I stated that I’m not really a hot dog fan, every May on this day, they some how taste better.  Or,  it could be that I’m just so ecstatic that it’s the end of the year.   That’s probably what makes that hot dog taste mighty good! ;0)

Last summer Maria and I went with friends to Gulf Shores, Alabama.  We fixed the loaded oven dogs for supper one night.  When I ate one, I was hooked!  When Kevin, Maria and I went to Destin, Florida this summer, I fixed these for us one night, and my husband was hooked!  The Maxwell family is a big fan for sure.

Loaded Oven Hot Diggity-Dogs

  • 7 hot dogs (I use turkey dogs, but you don’t have to)
  • 7 hot dog buns (I know it’s strange, but you can’t squeeze 8 buns in a 9×13 pan)
  • 1 cup mayonnaise (you can use the light mayo)
  • 1/2 cup sweet pickle relish
  • 15 oz can Hormel chili (you can get the vegan chili instead)
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 small onion diced (I prefer the sweet yellow onion, it’s not as strong)

I used a 9×13 dish for my diggity-dogs, and lined it with aluminum foil for an easy clean up!  Also, spray the bottom of the pan with cooking spray.  (If you’re on vacation, the disposable pans really come in handy)  Evenly spread 2 tablespoons of the mayonnaise and 1 tablespoon of relish into each hot dog bun.  Top with the (uncooked) hot dog, and place in your dish.  Repeat for remaining hot dogs.  Evenly top each with chili, then the cheese, and last the diced onion.

FullSizeRender (1)

Cover with foil, and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes.

FullSizeRender (2)My mouth is watering now!

May the Lord bless you and keep you on your journey ~ Beth

 

 

 

1 Comment

  1. There are certain foods we shouldn’t eat, but we can’t stay away! My indulgence is the Big Boy hamburger with extra tartar sauce and onion rings (the best around) on the side. I get the side salad to say I have eaten something healthy!

Leave a Reply

