But God

comments 2
Uncategorized

IMG_4643May 30th, 2015 will come and go….but not without a remembrance of what took place a year ago to the date.  My world as I knew it shifted, it was moved to an uncomfortable position.  Moved…but not without knowing who was with me during this difficult time in my life.

Maria and I had no idea that we would be in a bad accident on this day…..none of us know what the future holds for us…but we can know who holds it!  Without a doubt, I know who held this day for me.  That day was in my Papa God’s hands, just like every day I walk on this earth.

I knew upon impact I was hurt with injuries, but at the same time so worried about our daughter Maria, who was sitting on the passenger side.  She appeared to be alright, but I didn’t know for sure.  It wasn’t long before Maria’s door was opened and the woman who appeared out of nowhere asked if we were ok.  This woman, whom I like to think was an angel,  said she had witnessed the car running the red light, which resulted in “T-boning” us into oncoming traffic and totaling my car.

To say I’m anxious about tomorrow, and that it makes my stomach churn a little, would be an accurate assumption.  Even though I am, let me make one thing perfectly clear, my God is an awesome God who reigns from heaven above, with wisdom, power and love, my God is an awesome God!

My prayer, is to encourage others.  No matter what happens to us on this journey called life, we have a heavenly Father who loves us, watches over us and protects us.  I know that May 30th, 2014 could have turned out a lot different, Maria and I both could be in the presence of our Lord and Savior right now, dancing down heaven’s highway.  But God….and by the way, don’t you just love it in God’s word when you read, “But God….”  These two words signal a change, a contrast, or a clarification is coming next.

“My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” Psalm 73:26 NIV

But God had a different plan for our lives.  He still has a work for us (me and Maria) to do.  Our struggles in difficult times don’t have to brand us as “victims”,  they can define us as “victors” as we experience Christ’s power in and through us.

“No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined what God has prepared for those who love him.” 1 Corinthians 2:9 NLT

“And [so that you can know and understand] what is the immeasurable and unlimited and surpassing greatness of His power in and for us who believe, as demonstrated in the working of His mighty strength.” Ephesians 1:19 AMP

Yes, May 30th will come and go, but not without giving my Papa God all of the glory and thanks for being with me and Maria on that day, and for having his mighty angels being all around my car.  My world was shifted, and I’m left with a 5 inch scar, both physically and emotionally at times to remind me.  To remind me that I’m not a victim, but a victor, and it also reminds me…but God!

“You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done…” Genesis 50:20 NIV

 

 

2 Comments

  1. This is beautiful friend, just like you. Thanks for sharing your story and relating God’s loving truth over traumatic places in our lives. 🙂

  2. We have the “battle scars” as evidence of God’s victory in our lives! I am so thankful that you and Maria were spared for a purpose. You are walking out God’s will for your life in beautiful ways as a testimony of God’s mercy.

Leave a Reply

