A Mother’s Love That Protects From The Storms Of Life

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

IMG_4376I lived a routine life as a child.  Everything stayed the same, nothing changed, and I knew without a doubt that my Mother loved me each and every day.  Routines are good, and so important in a child’s life, they help build structure in your own life as you grow to be an adult.  But, on this one particular day my 8th grade year of school, my routine was about to change.

It was just like any other day coming home after school.  I asked my Mom if my friend, who lived up the street, could come over to our house on that day.  My friend stayed by herself in the afternoons until her Mom got off from work, and occasionally I would ask if she could come to our house.  Looking back, I can now see how God prompted me to ask if she could come over on that day.

Of course my Mom said yes.  We had a snack, then went back to my room to settle in and watch TV.  There were no lap tops, cell phones, or hundreds of channels on the TV, but we managed to find something to watch, it was probably one of the soap operas that was on at that time.  Whatever happened to those by the way?  I confess “All My Children” was my favorite!  Me and my mother would watch that and “General Hospital” together every day.  We loved watching these together.

As we settled in and watched TV, I heard a sound coming from outside that sounded like the train that was just down the road from us, had jumped the tracks and was headed our way.  I went to my window and pulled back the curtain and saw a tornado heading straight for us!  I yelled to my Mom what was happening, and she told me and my friend to get into the hallway immediately!  We didn’t have a basement, so this was the safest place in our house for storms.

She made us both get down on the floor and she covered us with her body.  We were so afraid, that we nearly choked her!  She protected us both that day by doing what only a Mother can do for those she loves.  She was giving her life if need be to make sure that we were alive!

As we all three lay there on the floor in the hallway we could hear the tornado pass over us.  Somehow I knew we were OK, so I ran to the back of the house to look out of the window and saw the shopping plaza that was right up the road from us, go up into the tornado that had just been over us.

According to wikepedia.org The Super Outbreak of 1974 was the second-largest tornado outbreak on record for a single 24-hour period, just behind the April 24-25, 2011 tornado outbreak.  Of which I now have lived through both!

Our house had some damage, and my friend’s house was alright, but not so for the others around us that were leveled.  God had his hand of protection upon us.  Although my Mother is now frail, and doesn’t know me from the Dementia that has taken over, I will never forget that day.  The day that her love protected me from that storm in my life!  My Mother was strong and brave, she laid down her life for me.   That’s what Mothers do when they love you.

I can think of another Mother who was also strong and very brave.   Mary, the Mother of Jesus.  Gabriel’s greeting to her was like this;

“Good morning! You’re beautiful with God’s beauty, beautiful inside and out! God be with you.”

“She was thoroughly shaken, wondering what was behind a greeting like that.  But the angel assured her, “Mary, you have nothing to fear.”  Luke 1:27-29 MSG

God chose Mary to carry his son Jesus.  He knew her, knew her character, knew she was strong and brave, and knew that she loved Him!  She was ready for the task set before her…

“I’m the Lord’s maid, ready to serve.  Let it be with me just as you say.”  verse 38

A Mother’s love is ready to serve and to love, and yes protect from the storms of life!  I love my Mother, and thank God that she has always been a beautiful example of Christ’s love for me!

Leave a Reply

