The Blind Sight

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

IMG_4358Our sweet little Verdell started loosing part of his eyesight when he was about 5 years old, probably even before that.  Verdell, is our Brussels Griffon.  I kept trying to tell my husband that Verdell’s eyes looked opaque and cloudy.  I kind of had an idea what that would mean for him down the road, and I kept gently reminding Kevin to not be surprised that someday Verdell could end up being blind.  Kevin didn’t like being reminded of this fact, but now he knows that what I was trying to prepare him for is sadly becoming true.

Verdell, who was supposed to be “my” dog, bonded right away with my husband instead, and well…the rest is history as they say!

We traveled all the way to Bethpage, Tennessee to pick up our little Verdell.  I was so excited that day.  I had researched the nearest kennel that bred the Brussels Griffon.  Even though he is pure bred with papers, that didn’t stop him from becoming gradually blind.

Enter George Clooney, (no…not the actor) our pug.  George is a rescue pug that we adopted about 4-5 years ago.  George is now known as Verdell’s “Seeing Eye Dog.”  George was also Dingo’s “Seeing Eye Dog.”  Dingo was our 16+ year old family dog that we recently had to put to sleep.

George took care of both Verdell and Dingo, and he continues to take care of Verdell.  He helps him find his way back to our front porch after we let them both outside.

As I was reading certain passages in the book of John, (from The Message) I read the story of the blind man that Jesus healed in chapter 6.  “Walking down the street, Jesus saw a man blind from birth.  His disciples asked, ‘Rabbi, who sinned: this man or his parents, causing him to be born blind?’  Jesus said, ‘You’re asking the wrong question.  You’re looking for someone to blame.  There is no such cause-effect here.  Look instead for what God can do.” 

So many times we worry about the “why” things happen, that we find ourselves taking our eyes off of our Great and Mighty God and what He can can do!  And when we take our eyes off of him, we may not be “physically blind”…but our eyes may have gotten cloudy and opaque, leading to a “spiritual blindness”, or well on the way to it.

Jesus tells the disciples, “We need to be energetically at work for the One who sent me here, working while the son shines.  When night falls, the workday is over.  For as long as I am in the world, there is plenty of light. I am the world’s Light.”

Jesus is our Light folks! He is God’s son, the one who shines brightly for us in this dark world!  And it gets pretty dark at times doesn’t it?

Jesus spit in the dust, made a clay paste with saliva, rubbed the paste on the blind man’s eyes, and said, ‘Go, wash at the Pool of Siloam.’  The man went and washed – and saw.”  Jesus gave sight to this blind man, and the Pharisees were all in an uproar because of it.  They grilled the man that Jesus had healed, and didn’t believe what had happened. “They called the man back a second time – the man who had been blind – and told him, ‘Give credit to God.  We know this man is an impostor.’  He replied, “I know nothing about that one way or the other. But I know one thing for sure: I was blind…I now see.

Hallelujah! “I was blind…I now see!” 

When Jesus had heard that they had thrown the man out, he went and found him.  He asked him, “Do you believe in the Son of Man?” The man said, “Point him out to me, sir, so I can believe in him.” Jesus said, “You’re looking right at him. Don’t you recognize my voice?”  “Master, I believe,” the man said, and worshiped him.  This man, now had the opportunity to see his Savior face to face!

George gently guides our little Verdell.  No, he can’t actually give sight to him,  but in a way he does…he acts on his behalf, being the eyes for Verdell in the darkness. And you know what? Verdell isn’t scared one bit! He trusts George to be his light, to lead him through the darkness.

Jesus then said, ‘I came into the world to bring everything into the clear light of day, making all the distinctions clear, so that those who have never seen will see.”  

We can trust Jesus to be our light…to heal our eyes when they start to become opaque and cloudy and to guide us through the darkness.  He is telling us, “For as long as I am in the world, there is plenty of light!

*The above picture is our sweet little Verdell, and his “seeing eye dog” George.

Leave a Reply

