Fast Food Or Food That Lasts?

comments 2
Uncategorized

IMG_1320My mind is in such a whirl wind right now, I really don’t know if I’m coming or going.  When I have a ton of stuff that’s laying heavy on my heart and mind…well, my brain tends to shut down.  Can anyone out there relate to this dilemma?  Or am I the only “Gone With The Wind” brain these days?

It’s hard for me to even concentrate right now, to sit down and even read a good book.  I love to read, and I love to write, but it seems like I am either too busy or too tired here lately.  Just go ahead and take your pick, I seem to be plagued by both.

Between worrying about my Mom and Dads health, and the possibility of me having another surgery of the ever so popular “gallbladder” kind.   Work, end of school year activities, schedules, planned trips, meetings…etc, etc.   No wonder my brain has left the building like Elvis!

My sweet husband took me out the other day and pampered me with a “just because” day.  He looked at me and said, “I know you have a lot on you right now, and you’ve had one tough year!”  Yeah…I reckon I have.  Thank you honey, I needed that day!

It’s funny at times, how the Lord tends to work in the hearts and minds of his children.  It never fails, that when something is laid on my mind to think about, every once in a while when those thoughts take root, (believe it or not!) my Papa God usually has something to say to me.

You may not even realize it at the time that He has laid a particular thought on your mind.  Maybe you haven’t thought about that “thought” for awhile…maybe a couple of days have gone by, a week, even a month or two.  Then there it is again, just as pretty as you please, that same reoccurring thought.

My favorite fast food places are as follows; “Wendy’s”, “Sonic”, “Zaxby’s” and “Starbucks” (is Starbucks considered a fast food place?  Or just fast coffee???)  I like all of these places for so many reasons.  Wendy’s, their chili and fries…oh and the frosty too!  Sonic, their onion rings, shakes and hamburgers. (That old gallbladder of mine decided war on all burgers though)  Zaxbys, their tater chips. (War again!) Starbucks, their Lattes.

Nothing can take the place of sitting down at the dinner table, spending time with your family, and having a good conversation with each other while eating.

I started thinking one day how we can get in such a hurry, and have so much on our minds, that we want that “quick” word or “quick” time with the Lord and just go on, much like how one goes through a drive-thru and orders something quick to eat.  It’s fast, convenient and did I mention quick? I’ve thought about this a lot.

I was reading in John chapter 6 the other day, how Jesus took the 5 loaves and 2 fish and fed the 5,000.  After he fed the crowd, Jesus went back up into the mountains, and the disciples went down to the sea.  Remember, how they all got scared in the boat.  That’s when Jesus walked on the water and told them not to be afraid.  Then the next day the crowd realized that Jesus was gone…

“So when the crowd realized he was gone and wasn’t coming back, they piled into the Tiberias boats and headed for Capernaum, looking for Jesus.  (Jesus said to them) “You’ve come looking for me not because you saw God in my actions but because I fed you, filled your stomachs – for free.”  

How many times have I been in such a hurry, wanted a quick fix from Jesus, that I didn’t even see God in His actions!

“Don’t waste your energy striving for perishable food like that.  Work for food that sticks with you, food that nourishes your lasting life, food the Son of Man provides.  He and what he does are guaranteed by God the Father to last.”

Nothing can take the place of spending time alone with Jesus.

“To that they said, ‘Well, what do we do then to get in on God’s works?’  Jesus said.  ‘Throw your lot in with the One that God has sent.  That kind of a commitment gets you in on God’s works.'”

I couldn’t help but snicker just a little when I read this next part of the passage…

They waffled: (as in the Waffle House…just couldn’t help myself thinking this, you got to love The Message!)   ‘Why don’t you give us a clue about who you are,  just a hint of what’s going on?  When we see what’s up, we’ll commit ourselves.”  

Jesus went on to tell them this…

“I am the Bread of Life.  The person who aligns with me hungers no more and thirsts no more, ever.”  John 6:12-38 MSG

We can keep having little “fast food” and “drive-thru” times with Jesus…but eventually we will be finding out we want food that sticks, food that nourishes our lasting lives, food the Son of Man provides.  He and what he does are guaranteed by God the Father to last! Nothing can take the place of sitting down and spending time with the Father.

2 Comments

  1. Great thoughts Beth! Yes, I can relate! Even when you said you couldn’t help but “snicker” I thought of a Snickers Ice Cream Bar. 🙂

  2. God doesn’t promise easy, but He does promise blessings for obedience! Praying for His blessings to spill over into your life. And I’ll sneak in a little prayer about your schedule easing up some too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

