One Day At A Time

comments 2
Uncategorized

IMG_4154If you want to know what living out the phrase, “one day at a time” looks like, then get to know someone who is a caregiver of another who is sick.  A caregiver as in an elderly husband of an elderly wife who has dementia.

I’ve gone through my whole life without really sitting down and thinking of the time of when my parents would one day grow old.  You know it’s going to happen because that thought lays dormant in the back of your mind, then you grow up and you grow older yourself and finally realize that the “one day” is here and now.

Thank God, and I truly do, when we finally have the sense enough to know when that day is approaching, we start praying and asking God to prepare our hearts and minds for that day.

I’ve started calling my Mother by her first name instead of Mom.  Bless her heart, she does not know who I am, but she does call me a good friend who has been good to her!  I call her Martha, because I don’t want to agitate her in any way.  Although she doesn’t know me, it’s OK, because she will always be my Mother, and I will always be her daughter…that doesn’t change what’s in one’s heart.

Recently, I spent the night at my Mom and Dad’s house to help with my Mom.  My Dad had called the night before, in the middle of the night, because my Mom was very agitated and was trying leave.  She wanted to go “home.”  She is always wanting to go home, to her child hood home.  She gets upset when she can’t quite figure out just where she is at.  She doesn’t recognize that she is at her home and she doesn’t recognize my Dad.  It breaks my Dad’s heart, and it breaks my heart for him.

As I sat in the chair watching my sweet little frail Mom nod off from medication that was  to keep her calm, the Lord revealed to me that this was living out “one day at a time”, my Mom and Dad’s life, their life that they live everyday.  A reminder that we should all be living, “one day at a time.”

You may miss a blessing today, if you are constantly thinking about tomorrow “

None of us are promised tomorrow.  I’ve heard this phrase over and over, and it became a reality to me after I had my car wreck last May.  But, God in his tender mercies spared mine and Maria’s life.

My Dad is doing the best he can in taking care of my Mom.  He is not in good health himself, but he knows where his strength comes from and he gives praise and thanksgiving to the Lord who holds him together!

“My help and glory are in God ~ granite-strength and safe-harbor-God.”  Psalm 62:7 MSG

God designed us as human beings to put one foot in front of the other in our walking.  When we first learned how to walk as a little baby, we would take only one step at a time, and if we didn’t, we soon found our chubby little selves landing with a hard kerplunk on our padded diapered backsides!  God’s design is still for us to take that one step at a time…that one step with him daily.

Watching my Mom and Dad live one day at a time, helps me to slow my pace down in life.  Sure, it’s great to have plans, even hopes and dreams for the future.  There’s even a song called, “Dream Big” by The Martins, with lyrics; “Dream big that’s the Lord’s desire for you to, dream big in everything you say and do.”  There’s also another song called, “One Day At A Time Sweet Jesus“,  by Cristy Lane with lyrics; “ One day at a time sweet Jesus, that’s all I’m asking from you.  Just give me the strength to do everyday what I have to do.”

“In order to take one step at a time, we need a firm footing…

“So, friends, confirm God’s invitation to you, his choice of you. Don’t put it off; do it now (today!) Do this, and you’ll have your life on a firm footing, (so you can take that one step at a time, for one day at a time!) the streets paved and the way wide open into the eternal kingdom of our Master and Savior, Jesus Christ.” 2 Peter 1:10-11 MSG

Our Heavenly Father wants to take each of us by the hand and lead us down the beautiful pathway of  “one day at a time.”  What joy, peace, love and grace he has for us every single day.  Jesus put one foot in front of the other when he was here on earth.   He took one step at a time.  Never once does the bible tell us that he hurried here or there.  He took his time, one step at a time and one day at a time.

“May the Master take you by the hand and lead you along the path of God’s love and Christ’s endurance.” 2 Thessalonians 3:5 MSG

Dear Jesus…”Just give me the strength to do everyday what I have to do, one day at a time.”

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Beth… This situation gives new meaning to “honor your father and your mother.” I have no doubt that you are doing just that.

  2. Rhis is beautifully written and captivates the heart of one day at a time and beinf a careiver. Each one who walk here has a unique story to tell. I understand a little of where you walk. Not with parents, but my husband. Blessings on your journey. God hold you close in each step.

Leave a Reply

