Worrying About God’s Will

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

IMG_4002God’s word is very clear about “worry.”  He does not, repeat… does not want us to do it!  Yet, in our frail human nature we continue to wring our hands, try to figure out what to do and often try to come up with our own solutions to elevate the pain of worry.  Yes there is a real pain in worry.  A pain so severe that some people end up making themselves sick over it.

In Philippians 4: 6-7 from The Message, Paul tells us to do these things:

  • Don’t fret or worry.
  • Instead of worrying, pray.
  • Let petitions (request to do something) and praises (express warm approval or admiration of) shape your worries into prayers.
  • Let God know your concerns

I believe with my whole heart, that when we continue to seek God’s will for our lives, a sense of peace that can only come from Him will dwell within us.  Paul tells us what happens next when we do pray instead of worrying:

  • Before you know it, you will have a sense of God’s wholeness (the condition of being sound in body)
  • Everything will come together for good.
  • The coming together, will settle you down.
  • Wonderful things happen when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.

The enemy is the author of confusion.  God is not.

“For God is not the author of confusion but of peace, as in all the churches of the saints.” 1 Corinthians 14:33 NKJV

Filling our minds with worry and being in a state of confusion is right where the enemy wants us to be, so that we are held in a suspended state of angst!   And he knows if we are in this suspended state, we will be so sick with worry that we will not be used by God!   And yes, Paul has something to say about this also…

  • You’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things that are;
  • True
  • Noble
  • Reputable
  • Authentic
  • Compelling
  • Gracious
  • The Best
  • Not the worst
  • The Beautiful
  • Not the ugly
  • Things to praise
  • Not things to curse

I know that I struggle at times, “worrying about God’s will” for my life, making right decisions.  Then the sweet peace of Jesus comes and settles down upon me.

“So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries.  Today’s trouble is enough for today.” Matthew 6:34 NLT

You want to know God’s will for my life?   I went searching….and I got the answer.

“Where you are right now is God’s place for you.  Live and obey and love and believe right there.” 1 Corinthians 7: 17 MSG

Where I am right now…my everyday ordinary life, today.

“Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and He will establish your plans.” Proverbs 16:3 NIV

Finally…Paul summed up the passage of Philippians 4:4-9 this way…

“Put into practice what you learned from me, what you heard and saw and realized.  Do that, and God, who makes everything work together, will work you into his most excellent harmonies.” 

Seeking God’s will for our lives, which goes right along with making right choices, is not a worrisome task.  Where I am right now, is God’s place for me.  My prayer is that I will practice what I have learned from God’s word.  I’m going to trust Him who makes everything work together, and to work me into His most excellent harmonies!

*The following is a wonderful article from Joyce Meyer, taken from Joyce’s The Wisdom of Making Right Choices.”  I read this article after writing this post.  Thank you God… for knowing my heart and knowing what I needed to hear.   http://www.joycemeyer.org/articles/ea.aspx?article=following_peace_to_make_the_right_decisions

Leave a Reply

