What Does Worship Mean To You?

comments 2
Uncategorized

IMG_3821What is worship? What does it mean to you? And better yet, what does it mean to me?  I’m sure that this post is not anything new for a christian blogger to blog about….but “worship” has been on my heart and mind a lot here lately.

This is thefreedictionary.com definition of Worship;

  1. a. The reverent love and devotion accorded a deity, an idol, or sacred object.  b. The ceremonies, prayers, or other religious forms by which this love is expressed: a chapel where worship is held daily.
  2. Ardent admiration or love; adoration: the worship of celebrities.
  3. often Worship Chiefly British Used as a form of address for magistrates, mayors, and certain other dignitaries: Your Worship.

This definition of the word “worship” pretty much sums it up, except what’s found in our hearts about worship.

If our hearts were sliced open and laid bare, would we be able to “look” at where worship is in our hearts?  Is it buried in the crevices, only to have to dig deep to even recognize it at all?  Or, would a beautiful glow representing worship be recognizable right away?

Years ago, my husband and I went to a Michael Jackson concert.  Yeah….you bet it was good.  No, it was great! While I was there, this thought haunted me.  And it was this…”All of these people here to see and hear the king of pop, it’s as if he is being worshiped.”  Then years later whenever he was seen or heard on TV, radio and media in general, I just couldn’t shake this thought…”What if we saw people worshiping God in this same way?”

Can you imagine?

“Come, let’s shout praises to God, raise the roof for the Rock who saved us!  Let’s march into his presence singing praises, lifting the rafters with our hymns!  And why?  Because God is the best, High King over all the gods.  In one hand he holds deep caves and caverns, in the other hand grasps the high mountains.  He made the Ocean – he owns it!  His hands sculpted Earth!  So come, let us worship: bow down before him, on your knees before God, who made us!  Oh yes, he’s our God, and we’re the people he pastures, the flock he feeds.  Psalm 95: 1-7 MSG

He made us!  He’s our God!  We are the people he pastures!  We are the flock he feeds!  Let us worship Him!  Bow down before Him, because God is the best, high King over all the gods!

A couple of years ago God spoke to me about my “Heart of Worship.”   He led me to the book of Romans, and I will never be the same…

“So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you: Take your everyday, ordinary life ~ your sleeping, eating, going-to-work, and walking-around life ~ and place it before God as an offering.  Embracing what God does for you is the best thing you can do for him.  Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking.  Instead,  fix your attention on God.  You’ll be changed from the inside out. ”  Romans 12:1-2  MSG

Changed from the inside out, as in your “heart of worship.”

Let me make a confession.  Sometimes in my worship, my mind begins to wander.  I start “worrying” and thinking about anything and everything besides worship!  If we’re going to be honest with ourselves, then we have to admit this.  We let our minds wander in the worship.  This is exactly a place where the enemy would want any of us to be…wandering in wonder in exchange for worship.  If the enemy can divert our minds while worshiping, then he thinks he has the upper hand…..he thinks!  But, little does he know that worship is so much more than that!  Worship is a lifestyle, and don’t ever forget that our Papa God will always have the upper hand! AMEN!

I started reading the story about the woman at the well the other morning in my quiet time.  The encounter, was revealing, and to say the least an eye opener for the Samaritan woman who had come to draw water at the well where Jesus was resting.  She didn’t recognize who Jesus was.  He ask her for a drink, but she knew he was a Jew. “How come you, a Jew, are asking me, a Samaritan woman for a drink?” (Jews in those days wouldn’t be caught dead talking to Samaritans.)  Jesus answered, “If you knew the generosity of God and who I am, you would be asking me for a drink, and I would give you fresh , living water.” 

She can see he doesn’t even have a bucket…and I’m pretty sure her first thought was…”what?”  Jesus tells this woman that, “Anyone who drinks the water I give will never thirst – not ever.  The water I give will be an artesian spring within, gushing fountains of endless life.”  She was probably thinking,  “This stuff must have more kick than Powerade, more Dew than the Mountain, and more Pepper than what the Dr. ordered!”…and she wanted some!

The woman said, “Sir, give me this water so I won’t ever get thirsty.”  Then Jesus tells her to go get her husband, she confesses she didn’t have one….and he knew that.  He knew she had five husbands. (Jesus knew everything about this woman!) In thinking that who she was talking to was a prophet, she says this to him.  “Tell me this, our ancestors worshiped God at this mountain, but you Jews insist that Jerusalem is the only place to worship, right?” 

Then something so profound came before my eyes in this story.  Jesus’ response to the woman at the well about worship…

….”the time is coming ~ it has, in fact, come ~ when what you’re called will not matter and where you go to worship will not matter. It’s who you are and the way you live that count before God.  Your worship must engage your spirit in the pursuit of truth.  That’s the kind of people the Father is out looking for: those who are simply and honestly themselves before him in their worship.”  John 4:1-24 MSG

Your everyday, ordinary life.  Simply and honestly being yourself before God.  What you are called, and where you worship does not matter.  Jesus says so!  Our worship must engage our spirit in the pursuit of truth.  Folks, that truth is Jesus!  We were made to worship, not get hung up in the in the when and where or anything other than Him!

Papa God ~  remind me that worship is more than singing… it’s my everyday ordinary life lived before you.  Help me today, to simply and honestly be myself before you.  I pray that my life would be constantly pursuing Jesus, the one and only!  Lay my heart open to you in my worship.  Giving you even the deep places in my heart!  Give me a heart of worship, not just today, but everyday!

2 Comments

  1. Beth, I love how you bring the Message Bible and conversational approach into your writing. The line about the Samaritan woman made me smile.
    She was probably thinking, “This stuff must have more kick than Powerade, more Dew than the
    Mountain, and more Pepper than what the Dr. ordered!”…and she wanted some!
    It is a gift to relate a story from long ago to today with application that makes us think and desire more of God!

    • Debbie…you know how I love The Message version of the bible! 😄 To me, The Message brings Gods words to life in a way that I have never seen before! And I know that’s a good thing! Thank you my friend as always for your kind and encouraging words.

Leave a Reply

