God Honors Perseverance

comment 1
Uncategorized

IMG_3567There’s a certain thought that’s been passing through my mind here lately.  One that I’m sure that God wants me to keep thinking of and to share with you… “God honors perseverance.”

I was reminded one morning in my quiet time of this thought, of how family and friends have gone through certain situations in their lives.  Reminded of how some are still going through them today.  Reminded of the one who is with them through their trials,  and reminded of the one who is with me, when I face these times in my life.

God Honors Perseverance

Here’s a question. How do people handle situations in their life?  Situations that they don’t always count on to happen.  Or maybe, they were situations that they knew were coming.  I will be the first to admit, my first reaction to certain situations in my life aren’t always “Godly.”  Let me explain… Some of my “first” reactions to situations, are;  mad, anger, sad, accusatory, prideful and ungrateful.  Yes, ungrateful as in,  “Not seeing what God is trying to do in my life at that particular moment. Him carrying me through it, and drawing me closer.” 

My Mom and Dad are a wonderful example of allowing God to use their current situation.  The trial and heartache of my Mom going through Dementia.  I know that it’s very hard on my Dad, taking care of my Mom.   We are finally seeing my Dad beginning to accept my Mom in this stage of her life.  But never once have I heard my Dad accuse God of their situation.   Many times when I go over and check on them,  I will find my Dad back in his bedroom reading his bible, studying God’s word.  Oh how this warms my heart, to see his faithfulness through this trial in their lives!  Dad is taking care of my Mom the best that he can.  He knows and realizes she has good days and bad days.

God Honors Perseverance

My husband is another example.  His work has been challenging over the years.  I know he could have thrown in the towel so to speak many times, but he didn’t.  Where he is today with his job, and looking back over the course of several years, reminds me of our great God and his faithfulness!  God has opened up both of our eyes to His hand leading my husband through every tough time.  Leading him to where he is today.  A place of peace and rest.  My husband and I both marvel of His plan all along.

God Honors Perseverance

Fifteen years have passed since we adopted our beautiful Maria from Bulgaria.  That cute little 5-year-old girl with spindly bird like legs, waltzed right into our hearts and lives!  I know I’ve shared this with you before, but being the mother of a daughter with special needs has not always been easy.  We have most definitely experienced some tough situations.  But I wouldn’t trade any of them.  God knew it would be hard and tough at times.  I cling to the promise he gave me before we brought Maria home…

“Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” Hebrews 13:5-6 NIV

So can say with confidence,

“The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid.” verse 6

He has never left us, and never will! He is my helper…I will not be afraid.

Tough situations happen.  Hard times happen, and no matter what you do, you can’t stop them from happening.  It’s not always easy letting them go either.  Holding on to them somehow (we think) gives us that “righteous indignation.”  Letting go and letting God handle those tough times brings us to a place of peace and rest.

God Honors Perserevance

I’ll be honest with you, I get fearful at times thinking about Maria as an adult.  How in the world do I handle that?  What does that even look like down the road for me?

Encouraging words are here for me and for you;

Pursue righteousness and a godly life, along with faith, love, perseverance, and gentleness.  Fight the good fight for the true faith.”  1 Timothy 6:11-12 NLT

“Rejoice in our confident hope. Be patient in trouble, and keep on praying.”  Romans 12:12 NLT

We continue to shout our praise even when we’re hemmed in with troubles, because we know how troubles can develop passionate patience in us, and how that patience in turn forges the tempered steel of virtue…”  Romans 5:3 MSG

Our Maria has endured many trials in her life.  She is one very tough young lady and I am so proud of her and proud to be her Mother.  I wanted to use the picture above, because Maria is a beautiful example to me of what perseverance looks like.  I look to the future leaning on my Papa God for guidance in hard times and tough situations that may arise, because I believe with all of my heart that….

God Honors Perseverance

1 Comment

  1. This post is an example of God’s beauty that can come from “suffering.” What a wonderful smile that proclaims your daughter is a victor!

Leave a Reply

