Embracing Your Messy Life

comments 2
Uncategorized

photo (18)Waking up to possible snow or ice was how I started off my morning. To snow or not to snow. To ice or not to ice. Pacing the floor and waiting for it to happen doesn’t make it happen.  According to the meteorologists in our TV viewing area, as of yesterday, we were supposed to get some snow, then possibly ice.  It’s not looking to promising at this point.  But who knows. We have crazy weather here in southeast Tennessee and sometimes it can even get pretty messy!

Speaking of messy, while doing all of this waiting for the impending bad weather, I felt a gentle tug to get alone with my Papa God.  (He still woos us to be by his side you know!) Thinking of my little quiet hideaway aka walk- in- closet set up with beach chair, bible, journal, and various devotionals, I just couldn’t pull myself together to do that right away.  My little quiet space was messy.

Clothes hangers, clothes, and shoes scatter the floor of my little quiet space.  As that “albatross” of having to clean it up hung around my neck like a vice, I continued to hear my Papa God call me to be by his side.

I am reminded by my heavenly Father that he doesn’t care if my space is messy!

He doesn’t care, He just wants us there…

He beckons us with open arms to sit down, relax and spend time with him in the midst of our messy lives.  And if we are waiting to get everything “all cleaned up” we may not ever meet with him.

There is no amount of “cleaning” products that can help clean our lives up.  Even Mr. Clean himself can’t get that job done.  But there’s one who can…God’s son Jesus!

The Corinthians were not exactly perfect people and neither are we.  I can’t tell you how much I am loving being in 1 and 2 Corinthians. They were a bunch of messy people, but in spite of their messiness,  the preface of 1 Corinthians from The Message tells us this;  “God among them, revealed in Jesus and present in his Holy Spirit, continued to be the central issue in their lives, regardless of how much of a mess they had made of things.”

Paul knew they were “messy”….I am messy, you’re messy, hey…we’re all messy! I’ve said it once before, and it’s worth saying again. I just love how Paul addresses the Corinthians here…

“…believers cleaned up by Jesus and set apart for a God filled life.  I include in my greeting all who call out to Jesus wherever they live. (That happens to be you and me!) He’s their Master as well as ours!”  1 Corinthians 1:2 MSG

He also goes on to say after that…

“I thank God for your lives of free and open access to God, given by Jesus!  There’s no end to what has happened in you – it’s beyond speech, beyond knowledge. The evidence of Christ has been clearly verified in your lives.” verses 4-4 MSG

Their lives were a testimony of being messy…oh yes! But a testimony of letting Jesus clean them up.  He did the cleaning folks.  Regardless of how much they made a mess of things. Regardless of how much we make a mess of things, God through His son Jesus Christ is the only one who can clean us up!

As I sit here, my little space is still messy. (I do have hopes of being motivated to cleaning it up today, I really do!) But, regardless of how much I make a mess of things, I know who loves me and wants to spend time with me in the midst of my messiness. So, with that in mind…

I am embracing my messy life!

By the way, the photo I am using is courtesy of the teacher that I work with…it’s her son….she sent this to me showing me what her son was up to today. I told her that I was just writing about being messy! Yes…God has a sense of humor, he knew I needed a picture to help illustrate! What a cutie, thanks Jessica Beard for sharing Bryant’s picture with me today!

2 Comments

  1. I loved this! I needed to read this one this morning!
    Hey, I wanted to tell you that when people click on your gravitar, you don’t have your wordpress address included on your profile. I bet a lot more people would show up here if ya added it! I didn’t add mine for about a year and then someone told me that I needed to add it and a lot of people found me after that! Just wanted to share that because I think more people need to be here to read your words!
    xoxo
    Have a blessed day!

    • You are so sweet! Thank you so much for that advice! And love your blogging BYW 😊 I will do that as soon as I can figure it out! Haha

Leave a Reply

