A Legacy Of Faith

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

photo (3)There’s a song that Christy Nockels sings called, “Hosanna.”  One of the lines in that song goes like this; “I see a generation rising up to take their place, with selfless faith, selfless faith.”  That one particular line always makes me stop and think.  Is there really a generation like that right now?  Rising up to take their place with selfless faith?

The other day when I went to my Physical Therapy session, I discovered something.  Sitting there on the PT table, I started chatting with the gal who was helping me.  She was charting my progress,  and making sure I was doing the exercises that the head honcho concocted for me to do. Head honcho as in head Physical Therapist.

As I sat there doing the exercises prescribed for me, the PT Tech and I were talking about our jobs. We both agreed that we love what we do and how it important that is.  Also, knowing that you have insurance provided for you means everything.

One thing lead to another, and then I discovered that she knew our youngest son.  They had worked together for awhile at a catering business here in town.  Our son worked hard there for about 4 years.  The owner was so good to our son.  He thought so much of our son and loved him so.  So much so, that he did the rehearsal dinner as a wedding gift when our son and his wife got married about a year and half ago.  What a blessing that was for our family.  The food, presentation and just everything about that dinner was magnificent!

The moment I discovered that she had worked at the same catering company, I asked her if she knew our son?  “Yes!…It really is a small world after all”, she replied.

We both just sat there looking at each other for a second as if we knew a friendship had formed.  She said, “I loved working with your son! He was so much fun and such a hard worker!”  Then tears sprang into her eyes and she said, “Your son blessed our family so.”  I had no idea what she was talking about, but I could tell that whatever he had done was really a blessing.

A couple of years ago our son and his bible study group had gone to “Passion” in Atlanta.  The Passion organization lists its purpose as”…uniting students in worship and prayer for a spiritual awakening in this generation.”  As a result of attending the conference, they were led to create what they called, a “Dearly Loved Banquet.”  They invited to this banquet, the homeless and some others who were  experiencing hard times in their lives.  They, (the bible study group) took them shopping on that day. They had beauticians donate their time to give hair cuts and grooming.  They had gift baskets for everyone in attendance, and they cooked the most delicious food themselves and served it.  All of this took place at the very same place our son and his wife got married 2 years later.  A venue that is beautiful in every season and booked year around for weddings and events.

“But when you give a banquet or a reception, invite the poor, the disabled, the lame, and the blind.” Luke 14:13 AMP

This PT assistant told me that our son invited her daughter and her husband (who were having a hard time at the time) to the “Dearly Loved Banquet.”  He took an interest in them. He blessed them by an act of kindness.  Now tears came to my eyes as she told me this.

The greatest legacy that any parent can leave behind for their child, is a legacy of faith.  And the older I get, the more important I know this to be true. My hearts prayer is that all of my children will be strong in their faith to help lead the next generation.

I am so thankful that my parents are continuing to live out, even in their golden age, their legacy of faith for me and my brother.  I cherish those memories of them teaching me loving the Lord through their Godly examples.

“Train up a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not depart from it.” Proverbs 22:6 NKJV

We can teach our kids right from wrong.  We can teach them the ways of the Lord.  We can lead, guide and direct them based on our faith that we have in our walk with the Lord, but it doesn’t mean that they will always listen.  The faith and hope that I have in my Papa God, I want to pass that down to my children.  And let’s face it, this world is not going to get any better!  Everyday we see something disturbing on the news that we didn’t see the day before.  Our world looks hopeless, but it’s not.

Be strong and let your heart take courage, all you who hope in the Lord.” Psalm 31:24 NASB

Don’t ever think you have nothing to leave your children after you depart this world.  Your legacy of faith is more than any riches found here on earth! Your love for the Lord, and your walk with Him, passed down from one generation to another is a beautiful gift.

Oh, by the way…the pictures that I posted with this blog, shows our youngest son in the Zorro costume. I guess even at a young age he was ready to make a difference in this world! And he is doing just that, he is a 7th grade English teacher at a Middle school, where his faith shines bright in helping shape the next generation.

Leave a Reply

