Unbroken

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

photo (91)From the first moment that I saw the trailer, I knew that I had to go and see the movie.  Something gripped me each time I saw the previews for it.  It came out Christmas day, but I didn’t go then.  Several days passed then a friend of mine mentioned that she wanted to go and see it, so plans were made.

We went to see it yesterday.  Did I think it was a good movie?  Yes.  How many stars or thumbs up would I give it? Probably 4 out of 5.  Jack O’Connell, who played the main character did a fantastic job! My friend and I both walked away from the movie saying, “Wow’!

Actually, it was better than I thought it would be and I did have high expectations for it.  My friend and I shed a few tears, not to mention there was a surprise that we both were not ready for!  I won’t tell you about the surprise if you happen to go and see it, but, I would like to share a bit about the movie and what I observed.  My thoughts and what I brought back home with me.

When I first saw what the movie was about, I did some investigating about how it came to be.  Well, my investigation only goes as far as “Google-ing” it, but in this day and age, I reckon you can call it that.

Laura Hillenbrand the author of “Seabiscuit”, wrote “Unbroken” also.  “Seabiscuit” was made into a movie of which I have never seen, but I’ve heard it’s good and now I want to see it too.

Before I get too far into this with my thoughts, I want to say up front that it was directed by Angelina Jolie.  I’m sure most of y’all knew this fact anyway.   Some of the articles that I have read about the production of  “Unbroken ” states an obvious that Jolie is not particularly a “religious” person.  (Hmmm, as is most of “Hollywood” would be my observation also.)  And even though Angelina Jolie probably does not have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ, she somehow conveyed that the main theme of this movie was that God had a plan for Louie Zamperini’s life.  God has a plan for each of our lives, and he can use anything and anyone to get His message across.

Wikipedia says this about the movie.  Unbroken: A World War ll Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption.  The film revolves around the life of USA Olympian and athlete Louis “Louie” Zamperini, portrayed by Jack O’Connell.  Zamperini, who died on July 2, 2014, at the age of 97, survived in a raft for 47 days after his bomber was downed in WWll, and was sent to a series of prisoner of war camps.  The film flashes back to Louie’s troubled childhood as a young Italian immigrant boy.

At the end of the movie there is a slideshow showing what happened after the war.  Across the screen is a message of forgiveness, that Louie forgave his war-time captors and even met with many of them.

What the movie does not tell us, is that Louis “Louie” Zamperini gave his life to Christ at a 1949 Billy Graham Crusade in Los Angeles.  Zamperini overcame alcoholism, night terrors and a failing marriage to live a full and joyous Christ-centered life until his passing at age 97.

Long after this movie ended, it kept playing over and over in my mind.  Such an inspiring life that this man lived, it was a testimony that God truly had a plan for this man’s life.  I can’t help but think of this verse in 2 Corinthians 4.

“So we’re not giving up.  How could we! Even though on the outside it often looks like things are falling apart on us, on the inside, where God is making new life, not a day goes by without his unfolding grace.”  2 Corinthians 4:16

Sometimes our appearance may look as though we have been beaten up, knocked down and falling apart, but never forget this my friend, not a day goes by without his unfolding grace!

If you get the opportunity to go and see this movie you will marvel at “Louie’s” resilience in not giving up!

Leave a Reply

