2014: A Year of Bloggin From My Noggin

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

photo (90)
It’s been exactly one year ago today that I started my little blog, “Can’t Keep Quiet”.   I call it little, because it truly is in every way.  I am not “tech savvy” that’s for sure! Half of the time I mess up somehow in “posting”.  There’s so much I still do not understand in what to do on my laptop!  I have to laugh at myself because it is that funny!  My grammar is not the best in the world, and I can’t spell worth a hoot! (Thank goodness for spell check.) I’m not eloquent with my words,  just plain old me.  So how did this come to be?  God nudged me into it!  When He nudges and gently tugs on your heart, it’s hard to ignore.  Sadly, a lot of times we do though, and God appointments, God opportunities and God’s grace and blessings are often forfeited when we choose to ignore that tug!

I was so hesitant in starting a blog.  I was afraid that I would not have anything to say…well, I really don’t but God does.  I wanted to somehow convey how He has encouraged me through His word.  Oh how He does!  I can’t help but have a picture in my mind that His word to me is like being hooked up to an IV!  It is that vital.  His word is encouraging, and comforting. He conveys His forgiveness through His word…”sin didn’t, and doesn’t have a chance in competition with the aggressive forgiveness we call grace”  Romans 5:20 MSG   His word teaches us and corrects us, and sometimes it’s hard to read when we know He is trying to correct us!  Most of all He loves us through His precious word.  From cover to cover, beginning to end His love letter to us.

The title “Can’t Keep Quiet” came from reading in Acts chapter 4 one day.  Peter and John were called to stand before the rulers, religious leaders, scholars, Annas the Chief Priest, Caiaphas…everybody who was anybody was there.  “Their fascination deepened  when they realized these two were laymen with no training in Scripture or formal education.  They recognized them as companions of Jesus.”  (verses 13-14 msg)   When they called them back again and warned them that they were on no account ever again to speak or teach in the name of Jesus, this was Peter and John’s response, “We can’t keep quiet about what we’ve seen and heard.” (verses 18-20)

The walls of hesitation slowly started coming down.  Me being afraid of what people would think of me started to fade and a seed of encouragement was planted deep within my heart.

Just like Peter and John, I pray that I am recognized as a companion of Jesus.  I pray that even if my little blog, my posts, are just for “one” person to be encouraged, then I pray that they will be encouraged.  I pray that God takes my “plain and non fancy wording” and use it for His glory.  He “takes delight in just plain people.” 1 Peter 5:5 MSG

There is still so much I have yet to discover in God’s word.  I want to dig deeper in 2015 and make those discoveries.

2014 had many challenges here in the Maxwell home, but I’m so thankful that my Papa God was with us every step of the way.  Every day of 2014 He never left our side once!  Guess what?  He is going on before us, preparing us for 2015!  “The Lord is the one who goes ahead of you; He will be with you. He will not fail you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.” Deuteronomy 31:7-8 NIV  As you welcome in the new year tonight, remember this promise and rest upon it!

Leave a Reply

