It’s Good To Be Alive

comment 1
Uncategorized

photo (87)Hanging over my head for some time was a task that I was not looking forward to, and yet, it hung over me like that of an albatross hanging around one’s neck, haunting, burdening and reminding them of the task that was to be taken care of and accomplished.

The haunting task I’m referring to, the much dreaded cleaning of my attic.  I couldn’t figure out how we had acquired so much junk.   Or was it, somehow all of the junk had acquired us?  Let’s just say it took some time to get it straightened out.  Three hours later, it started looking much better.  (Let me insert a word right here that my best friend’s Mamaw used to say whenever she had accomplished a task set before her.)  I felt  “elected!”  Mission accomplished!

While cleaning, I came across a reusable shopping bag with various items that were inside.   At first I didn’t recognize some of the stuff that I was picking through, but I quickly saw that I needed to slow down and remember.  Remember the significance of those items.  Items that represented 2014 for me.

I had forgotten about this blue bag and the items that were within.  To be perfectly honest with you, I didn’t want to look in this bag again and be forced to remember.  I had only gone through it once before, and when I had, I took it to our attic and tossed it.  It’s funny though, I really didn’t want to throw it away.   I didn’t want to remember the bad part of it.   But, I’m so thankful to my precious Papa God that He has allowed me to remember the good part of it!

This blue bag that I’m talking about, is the bag that my husband took to retrieve items from my totaled car after my accident on May 30th of this year.  I had forgotten about all of the CD’s that I had in my car.  One in particular, had been left in the CD player.  I listened to this CD every day on my way to work, and just about every time I got in my car.  Travis Cottrell’s “Unashamed Love”.  As I pulled the empty CD case out, I scanned the list of songs.  Remembering every one, and also remembering that Maria and I had listened to that CD on the day of the accident.  Those songs meant something to me.  They were each worshipful moments with my Papa God.  A significance to remember from my 2014.

As I combed through the bag looking at everything.  I saw another CD that I hadn’t seen in a while.  One that someone had burned for me a long time ago.  I just sat there looking at the title, and what it represented for me.  Letting the words sink in, I whispered a prayer to my Papa God with the same title, “It’s Good To Be Alive” by Babbie Mason.  Remembering something that the enemy intended for bad, my God used for something good!  I will praise Him and thank Him for his goodness as long as I live!  Yes,  It’s Good To Be Alive!

“I sing to God, the Praise ~ Lofty, and find myself safe and saved.” Psalm 18:3 MSG

While cleaning my attic, I had been thinking about this past year, my 2014.  Thinking about the “one” word that God has laid on my heart for this coming year in 2015.  “CONSTANT” is the word, which is in one of my recent posts, “He Is Constant” from December 15, 2014.  I was also thinking about how God laid on my heart in 2014 to share with others in how He encourages me through His word.  And last but not least, going through that blue bag I hadn’t seen for six months, reminded me how my Papa God and his mighty angels were in the car with me and my Maria on May 30, 2014!

God’s angel sets up a circle of protection around us while we pray.” Psalm 34:7 MSG

My 2014 started out with a gentle nudging on my heart to encourage others on a blog that I started.  My first post was on December 31, 2013.  The last sentence of that post, ended with me talking about God’s love;  “A love that will never leave you or fail you now, for the coming year in 2014, and praise God, for all the years to come!”

None of us know what each new year will hold for us.  I certainly never dreamed that I would be in a car wreck and sustain such injuries in 2014.  But by the wonderful grace of my Papa God, He brought me through it.  As he continues to daily.  I’m still healing from that accident, both mentally and physically.   I certainly never dreamed that I would love to write.  Three words that Paul spoke in Galatians, I have taken to heart…”Live creatively, friends.”  Galatians 6:1a MSG  I have taken these three words as a charge coming straight from my Papa God!

My prayer for 2015 is to be more in love with God’s word,  and to be more in love with Him!  Knowing he “Constant-ly” Loves me…Constant-ly covers me with his Grace…Constant-ly provides His Mercy unto me…Constant-ly Protects me…Constant-ly offers me Strength…Constant-ly Empowers me...Constant-ly is Loyal to me and His Presence is Constant-ly with me!

My Papa God has given me a verse for 2015 and I want to share it with you.

“Keep your eyes open, hold tight to your convictions, give it all you’ve got, be resolute, and love without stopping.” 1 Corinthians 16:13-14 MSG

“Papa God, help to keep my eyes open, seeing you in everything that takes place around me.  Help me to hold on tight to what you are teaching me.  Help me to give it all I’ve got in 2015.  Help me to be determined, purposeful,  unwavering, steadfast, and unshakable in my walk with you.  Help me to love without stopping.  And help me to always remember, It’s Good To Be Alive! ~ Amen  

 

 

1 Comment

  1. As I read your post, one other constant kept coming to mind: God’s constant presence. Even in the horrific, you were aware of God’s presence! Wishing you all God’s best for 2015!

Leave a Reply

