Run To Win

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

photo (76)I recently spent some time with a sister-in-Christ that I hadn’t seen in a while. Actually, I spent time with several old friends that I hadn’t seen in a long time. It was so good to see them, to talk to each of them. Although I hadn’t seen them in a few years, that bond of friendship in Jesus was and is just as strong. It was as though we had just seen each other the day before. A sweet bond of friendship with Jesus right in the center.

A precious reunion with old friends. We had gathered for a grave side service of a former pastor. This celebration of life is what brought us together. We laughed and we cried, remembering this man’s exuberant life and love for The Lord!

It took very little nudging for me to stay and eat with my friends after the service was over. I’m so glad that I did. We asked each other what was going on in our lives, sharing our hearts with one another. I sat listening to my friend talk about “running.” I was interested and began asking her questions. I love to ask people questions and especially children. (I’m pretty nosy with our Kindergartners. They are so open and honest, and I love it.)

I am clueless when it comes to the subject of “running”…I am clueless about running…period. I’m so clueless that I barely know the difference between a 401K and a 5K! I knew she had been running. I had seen several of her posts on Facebook about it.

She told me that she would get up at 4:30 am to train for a race, and how her husband would go with her. He would ride on a bike beside her giving her water when needed. Now that’s what you call dedication on both of their parts. I was impressed to say the least.

In my mind I’m a “runner”, but in reality I’m a walker. I do enjoy walking. And hey…I can walk pretty fast. I occasionally jog a little here and there while I walk. I’m not so sure I have the stamina like my friend to “run.” But maybe someday I will!

I’ve been 1 Corinthians for some time now. When you can’t seem to get past certain passages in God’s word, there’s a reason for it. I know God has a message for me here. He has one for all of us. Paul the great reminder…reminds us of a very important race that we all need to be in on and a part of.

“I don’t know about you, but I’m running hard for the finish line. I’m giving it everything I’ve got. No sloppy living for me! I’m staying alert and in top condition. I’m not going to get caught napping, telling everyone else all about it and then missing out myself.”1 Corinthians 9:26-27 MSG

You’ve got to just love Paul! He says, “I didn’t want to talk about it; I wanted to be in on it.” verse 23b He didn’t want to just talk about Christ. He wanted to be in the very thick of the experience of not only “walking” with Christ but “running” with him and others, knowing at the finish line is an eternal home with him forever! He uses running as an example to help us steadily keep our eyes, body mind and soul propelled forward for that prize!

“You’ve all been to the stadium and seen the athletes race. Everyone runs; one wins. Run to win. All good athletes train hard. They do it for a gold medal that tarnishes and fades. You’re after one that’s gold eternally.” verses 24-25

I don’t know if I will ever be a “runner”…maybe a “jogger’. I can picture that one!

But I can run to win for that gold eternally!

Leave a Reply

