He Is Constant

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

photo (77)A few weeks ago I got a text from my choir director asking me if I could sing the following Sunday. I said sure, I would love to. With just a few days until that Sunday, I chose a song that I knew by heart and love, “Beulah Land.” And the older I get, this song just gets sweeter each time. I do love to sing, but here lately God has been leading me to songs that are “worshipful.” I’m not saying that all songs are not worshipful, but there are some songs that you sing to God, some songs are about God. And then the songs that you sing with God and are about him also, those are what I call the “worshipful” songs. God uses the lyrics in songs to speak to us, to heal us, and to declare his love for each of us.

In his text he said, “Oh, there’s this song that I want you to sing with the choir some day by Meredith Andrews called, “Not For A Moment.” I said, “Hey, and I heard a song on the radio the other day that I loved and want to sing soon!” Same song. Coincidence? NO! Oh How I love how my Papa God plans things like this!

God has been laying this word on my heart for awhile….constantConstant as in, His LoveHis Grace…His Mercy...His ProtectionHis StrengthHis PowerHis LoyaltyHis Presence.

I have been praying with this word “constant” in mind. Thanking my Papa God for his constant love, for being constant.

As I sat on my couch several weeks ago and watched on my laptop the funeral of a former pastor of mine, the praise team from his church sang a song that I had never heard before, but mind you the word “constant” had been laid on my heart for some time by God. Sure enough in this song the praise team sang the words “He is constant.”  I didn’t know at the time the name of the song they were singing, but I did recognize the word “constant.”  I had no idea that my choir director would text me several days after that and want me to sing this same song!

I know Christmas is supposed to be a time of great joy, and it is because we celebrate our Lord and Savior’s birth. But we can still have heart ache and pain in the midst of this joyous season.

Right now, my heart is so heavy and broken. I have so many friends and family members going through some very difficult times and situations in their life. My own family is experiencing pain and heart ache…you may be too. My heart goes out to you, because I know what you are going through, but most importantly, God knows what you are going through and you are not alone!

This word “constant” that has been resonating through my whole being is a word I intend to hang onto. Why? Because my Papa God has given me this word about Him. He wants me to hang onto this word and He wants me to share it with you!

Constant: staying the same, not changing. Always loyal. Marked by firm steadfast resolution or faithfulness.

I can’t think of a better way to describe my God.

“For I am the Lord, I do not change.” Malachi 3:6a AMP

If you believe God’s word, then believe this…He will never change!

“There is nothing deceitful in God, nothing two-faced, nothing fickle. He brought us to life using the true Word, showing us off as the crown of all his creatures.”  James 1:17b MSG

God’s word is “constant”…his word will never change, the message of love, hope and salvation through His son Jesus Christ will never change!

“This is my command ~ be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid or discouraged. For the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9 NLT

My prayer for my friends and my own family going through heart ache and pain this Christmas season is to know that…GOD IS CONSTANT!

“…God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” Hebrews 13:5 NIV

Papa God…so many of my friends and family are suffering right now. My prayer is that they know that you are reaching through their storm, walking on the water towards them. I pray that they will know you will hold them and carry them through this time….and that YOU ARE CONSTANT!”

Leave a Reply

