A Tail-Wagging Perseverance

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

I’ve met a new friend while walking through my neighborhood. I keep thinking that she might join me, but she hasn’t so far. She comes up to greet me and acts like she has a lot to say, but I’ve learned she’s really kind of quiet.

She knows I like her. When I bend down to give her a pat on the head, she wags her tail ninety to nothing! She stands tall and proud when I pass back by on my way home, and looks at me as if to say, “Thanks for stopping by, I’ll see you again soon!”

I could say that I am talking about the four-legged kind, but I’m not…this sweet little beagle only has three legs. I don’t know her story…but I know she has one. I’m sure one that involves some kind of pain and suffering. But her stature of standing tall and proud on her three legs lets me know that she has persevered!

Persevere: to continue doing something or trying to do something even though it is difficult.

 

Whenever I see my new little friend I can’t help but think of when Paul talks about perseverance in Romans. I love this passage in Romans chapter 5 entitled, “Peace and Hope” from the New International Version

“…but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance, perseverance, character; and character, hope.” Romans 5:3-4

I don’t believe I’ve ever known anyone that is packed with more perseverance than our daughter Maria who is Traumatic Brain Injured, with Cerebral Palsy. She suffered more in the first four years of her life than most people have in a lifetime. But our great and loving God had a plan for her life, to be loved by him and to persevere! Maria stands tall and proud today, and is a testimony of God’s peace and hope that is alive and well in her life!

photo (75)

So many people are suffering, and they suffer in various ways. The suffering I go through and experience may not look like your suffering. But… our great and loving God knows! He knows what we go through at times, and He wants to love us through our pain and suffering and He wants us to persevere.

Verse 3 and 4 of Romans chapter 5:1-5 rests right in the middle of this beautiful scripture. Cushioned above and below with words of peace and hope found through Jesus Christ. Peace, hope and encouragement to persevere through our faith.

“Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we stand.” verses 1-2

By faith into His grace in which we stand. We can stand, and we can persevere.

Just the other day, I saw an old friend and she and I were talking about how people make it in this world without the Lord. We both agreed…they don’t.

“And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.” verse 5

We can count on our Papa God pouring his love into our hearts and helping us to persevere in any and all difficult or painful situations we may encounter. We have this hope!

By faith into His grace in which we stand. We can stand, and we can persevere!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

