What Are We Reminded Of?

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

photo (65)Some kids just don’t like to get dirty, much less muddy. I can remember playing outside in the summer, I would get so hot and sweaty and yes…dirty! The dirt and mud never seemed to bother me. I would have dirt on me from head to toe. My Mother would always tell me, as I went to take a bath after a long day of playing outside…”Don’t forget to wash your granny beads!” And for those of you who do not know what “granny beads” are, that’s the dirt that collects around your neck in little beads that looks like a necklace!

I am a mess at times. And…I mess up from time to time. We all do.

The people of Corinth were no different in messing up. Paul was their pastor for awhile, living among them and teaching them the “good news.” Along with the message of the good news, he taught them how to live out their new faith filled lives and holiness as a community of believers. After living with the Corinthians a year and a half, he went on to other towns and churches spreading this good news to others. Then one day he received a report from one of the Corinthians that things were falling apart. So, he wrote them a letter.

Paul reminds the Corinthians that, “God among them, revealed in Jesus and present in his Holy Spirit, continued to be the central issue in their lives, regardless of how much of a mess they had made of things.” (The Message)

We all need to be reminded who is for us and not against us!

I’ve messed up more times than I care to count. And like I said we all do.

Paul starts out telling the Corinthians in his letter…”I, Paul, have been called and sent by Jesus, the Messiah, according to God’s plan….”  

…..”I send this letter to you in God’s church at Corinth, believers cleaned up by Jesus, and set apart for a God filled life. I include in my greeting all who call out to Jesus, wherever they live. He’s their Master as well as ours!” 1 Corinthians 1-2 msg

His letter starts out reminding the Corinthians they’ve already been cleaned up by Jesus! And that they’ve been set apart for a God filled life.

“JESUS LOVES ME THIS I KNOW FOR THE BIBLE TELLS ME SO”

When we’ve made a mess, when we’re in a mess or just a mess in general we need to remember that we too are believers cleaned up by Jesus and set apart for a God filled life!

Leave a Reply

