Pursuit Of What Brings God Pleasure

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

photo (64)When things make an impression on me, the first stop for the imprint can be found in my heart. I feel it there. Next is my mind. After I’ve felt the impact, I then begin to think about why an impression was made. Soon I  have a pattern that my heart and mind share back and forth.

I read a little book not too long ago that made an impression on me. The character in this book made a couple of statements that went straight to my heart. It touched my heart so, that I continued to ask myself a question over and over in my mind…a question that the character in this book asked, “Am I to the praise of God’s glory?  Harriet, the main character in this book, also makes a profound statement to someone she meets…”I want to feel God’s pleasure – absolutely and for certain before I die.” (Quotes taken from the book “Harriet Beamer Takes The Bus” by Joyce Magnin.)

The story is about an older woman in her 70’s who decides to take public transit buses across the country from Pennsylvania to California, with a couple of trains along the way. She’s determined to get to California on her own terms, do it her way and see the country. She sells her home in Pennsylvania, and is moving in with her son and his wife in Grass Valley, California…that is, when she finally gets there. Be ready to board the buses with a fun and quirky trip with Harriet. Set back and enjoy her way of seeing things and meeting who she meets. Oh, and you’ll be picking up a few salt and pepper shakers along the way. Strap your seat belt on and enjoy the ride! I enjoyed the ride with Harriet and laughed until I cried at times.

This book had me thinking about Eric Liddell, the Scottish athlete and missionary who was forced to choose between his religious beliefs and competing in an Olympic race. Eric Henry Liddell, a devout christian refused to run in a heat held on a Sunday in the 1924 Summer Olympics in Paris, France. He was forced to withdraw from the 100-meter race, his best event. He competed in the 400-meter race and won. Liddell’s Olympic training and racing, and religious convictions that influenced him, are depicted in the Oscar-winning 1981 film “Chariots of Fire.”

God made me fast. And when I run, I feel His pleasure.” ~ Eric Liddell

Am I to the praise of God’s glory?  When I _____, do I feel His pleasure?

If you and I are not asking ourselves these questions, we should be.

So I’m on a quest to find out what brings God pleasure.

I can tell you without giving the whole book away, that Harriet discovered what brought God pleasure. Eric Liddell knew what brought God pleasure. His running. It really kind of sounds strange doesn’t it? That something as simple as running could bring God pleasure. But Eric Liddell knew it, and gave it to God. He gave it freely and wholly and held nothing back. He honored God and God honored him. Liddell was slipped to his hand, while in the starting block for the 400-meter, a quotation from 1 Samuel 2:30, “Those who honor me I will honor.” Liddell broke the existing Olympic and world records with a time of 47.6 seconds. This was a European record for 12 years.

I think if we are searching for some big something that we can do that will bring God pleasure, then we’ve got it all wrong, and we’re searching in all the wrong places.

Maybe, just maybe He delights in some of the most smallest things that go unseen, unnoticed, and not that elaborate from a world’s point of view.

Sweeping the floor. Doing a load of laundry. Unloading the dishwasher. Sewing a tiny hole in one of your daughter’s shirts. Raking the leaves. Making a meal for someone. Running, walking, playing golf and volley ball. Washing the car. Ironing. Teaching children to read, write and share. Grocery Shopping.

We can either be in pursuit of what brings God pleasure or we just don’t care enough to find out what will. And if we’re trying to bring Our Papa God pleasure, then we’re trying to bring His son the same.

“Figure out what will please Christ, and then do it.” Ephesians 5:10 MSG

God’s word is very clear. Figure it out then do it.

While working on this particular post for my blog, Steven Curtis Chapman’s song “Do Everything” kept coming to my mind.

“So whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.” 1 Corinthians 10:31 NLT

Oh, that we should be on a continuing journey to find out what brings God pleasure and never stop on this quest set before us!

“I want to feel God’s pleasure – absolutely and for certain before I die” ~ Harriet Beamer

 

Leave a Reply

