Where You Are Right Now

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

photo (60)Where are you right now? Are you at home, work? At a friend’s house? Out eating? Are you at the beach? Waiting on a plane, bus or taxi? Are you at the movies checking your email before the movie starts?

Now…same question, but I’m asking it differently. Where are you right now in your life? Are you a stay-at-home Mom? Are you taking care of a sick loved one? Are you taking care of a special needs child? Maybe taking care of your aging parents? Do you work? What is it that you “do” at work? Are you where you want to be? Are you where you need to be? Are you where you know you are supposed to be? I know, these are a ton of questions flying off of my chrome book keyboard right now. But I read this verse the other day, and for me, answers that question… “Where am I right now in my life?”

“Where you are right now is God’s place for you. Live and obey and love and believe right there. Friends, stay where you were called to be. God is there. Hold the high ground with him at your side.” 1 Corinthians 7:17, 24 msg

I can’t think of a more beautiful verse to verify where someone needs to be in their life.

When I leave my teacher assistant position every day, I go straight to an after school program a few minutes away from my school. I work there also. I love talking about both jobs to Kevin. He said, “I think you’ve found your calling, working with those children.” And I love being at both places every day with those children.

So many times though we fall into a rut and wonder whether we are where we are supposed to be. I know that I’ve struggled with this in the past. When I was a stay-at-home mom I wondered if I was doing what I was supposed to be doing at that time? I would quietly ponder if I should be working outside of our home. Looking back, I know that is exactly where I was supposed to be. When I was at home with my children, that was God’s place for me.

Where I am right now, a Kindergarten assistant at Michigan Avenue and Computer teacher/tutor at Big City University is God’s place for me.

Paul tells us to do 4 things where we are right now:

  1. Live
  2. Obey
  3. Love
  4. Believe

He addresses us as “friends” because he cares for those that have a personal relationship with his friend Jesus, who is also our friend. Through all time and space we share that common bond with Paul.  A friend through the ages as he speaks through God’s pages. Paul’s advice, “Friends, stay where you were called to be.” Paul knew the importance of a “calling” on your life from God! He knew the most effective people who’s light shown brightly were those who didn’t try to shine their own light.

He tells us, “God is there.” And he is. Whatever God has called us to do, he is with us.

Intrigued by the very last sentence of this verse, I wanted to find out what Paul meant by “hold the high ground.”

The high ground is actually an idiom that means, (1.) If a person or an organization has the high ground, they are in the best and most successful situation. (2.) If something has the high ground, is is thought to be of good quality, serious, and honest.

Where God has called us to be, is the best and most successful situation. It may not seem so to us, but it is to our Papa God and he always knows whats best for us. Just think, he is helping us “hold the high ground” in what we “do” and where we are each and every day. He wants us to live, obey, love and believe right where we are. Live with his light shining brightly. Obey his word. Love with his love, and believe what he says he will do.

God is already there, before you or I get to our calling each and every day….when we get there, hold the high ground, He’ll be by our side!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

