Don’t Let God’s Grace Go To Waste

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

 

photo (57)

“Finish your dinner…don’t let that food go to waste.”

Just use the other side of that paper, don’t let it go to waste.”

Don’t throw that away...we can use it again, don’t let it go to waste.”

Have you heard or even said these things before? I’ve heard these and many more of the “don’t let this or that go to waste” statements while growing up, and have said them myself. You’ve probably said them to your children, grandchildren, or even possibly to any child you may be around, whether kin folk or not.

Not to waste is something that has to be taught to children, and even to some adults.  I try not to waste things, and would hope that I’m known as a “frugal” person and not just a “cheap” one. There is a difference. I love some good bargains. I was even into coupon cutting and saving a few years ago. So much so that I had a big coupon book with all my coupons that I religiously took to all of the stores with me. I guarded that big coupon book with my life! My sister-in-law even left hers at the grocery store once. She called the store and went by to see if anyone ever turned it in. It was gone. The HORROR!!! If you can imagine that painting “The Scream” by Edvard Munch…well that pretty much sums up how she felt and how I felt for her!

Extreme coupon cutting is a full-time job! Whew! I was cutting and placing those coupons in that big old book every week as if my very life depended on it. That ran its course for several months for me. Then Aldi’s came to town! Aldi’s – the new kid on the block helped me get over the coupon frenzy.

I still use coupons, but not to the extreme as I once did. And I still use our local grocery stores along with Walmart, but Aldi’s sweet Aldi’s how I love you! Seriously…great produce, great prices along with friendly service. Just make sure you always have a quarter for their buggies and your own shopping bags.

I’m not sure being frugal is one way as describing Paul. But I do know that without a doubt he was not a “grace waster.”

“But because God was so gracious, so very gracious, here I am. And I’m not about to let his grace go to waste.” 1 Corinthians 15:10 msg

He makes this statement to the Corinthians, “…so I wouldn’t get a big head, I was given the gift of a handicap to keep me in constant touch with my limitations. Satan’s angel did his best to get me down; what he in fact did was push me to my knees. At first I didn’t think of it as a gift , and begged God to remove it. Three times I did that, and then he told me,

“My grace is enough; it’s all you need. My strength comes into its own in your weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:7-10 msg

God told Paul…”My grace is enough; it’s all you need.”  He’s telling us the same.

Paul was whipped, clubbed, stoned, and shipwrecked. Yet he knew what grace was and experienced it first hand. Grace found Paul on the outskirts of Damascus about noon one day. His conversion story. Grace found him, saved him and loved him.

….”sin didn’t ,and doesn’t, have a chance in competition with the aggressive forgiveness we call grace. When it’s sin verses grace,  grace wins hands down.” Romans 5:20 msg

I have thought of trying not to waste many things in my lifetime, but honestly I have never though about wasting God’s grace! How many times have I done it though? Never giving it a thought. That I could be wasting God’s grace. Taking his grace for granted and even wasting it.

“Oh Papa God please forgive me when I have wasted your grace…your sweet precious wonderful grace is all I need! I’m so thankful for your grace. I would truly be lost without it!”

Grace found me, loved me and saved me and…

I’m not about to let God’s grace go to waste, because every detail in my life of love for Him is worked into something good!” 1 Corinthians 15:10 & Romans 8:28 msg

Two verses connected = powerful words.

Every detail in your life of love for Him is worked into something good, so don’t let God’s grace go to waste!

 

 

Leave a Reply

