Most Excellent Harmonies

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

photo (44)As I was reading some very familiar verses in the bible the other morning, a question formed in my mind…”Would I like to be known as someone who God worked into his “most excellent harmonies?”

My answer…a most emphatically yes!

Well guess what, Paul tells me in Philippians how God can work me into his most excellent harmonies.

I had to read and re-read this verse several times. And I’ve read this verse many times before. I love it when words start to soak into your being. And soak in a new, different and fresh way than they ever have before.

HOW BEAUTIFUL WHEN GOD TAKES SOMETHING SO FAMILIAR AND BRINGS IT ALIVE IN A WHOLE NEW LIGHT!

Most Excellent Harmonies

The word excellentextremely good and outstanding. Some synonyms; very good, superb, exceptional, marvelous, wonderful, magnificent, glorious, lovely and delightful.

Harmonies ~ the combination of simultaneously sounded musical notes to produce chords and chord progressions having a (oh! this is so good…) pleasing effect. Synonyms for harmonies; accord, agreement, peace, friendship, fellowship, cooperation, and understanding.

How can we be worked into His “most excellent harmonies?”

Some very simple instructions…

“…you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious – the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse. Put into practice what you learned from me, what you heard and saw and realized. Do that, and God, who makes everything work together, will work you into his most excellent harmonies.” Philippians 4: 8-9 MSG 

When our minds start to drift to things that are untrue, ignoble, disreputable, fake, uncompelling, and ungracious, in other words…right the opposite of what God would have us think upon, we’re miserable and there’s no other way to put it. Or how about when we think of  the worst, the ugly, and things we would just love to curse at? My mind has gone there before, and it always makes me miserable when it does. Whenever I think of those things I am not a pleasing effect to my Papa God or anyone else. We know and realize what we need to do, yet so many times we don’t do it do we we?

Satan most definitely doesn’t want any of us to be worked into God’s “most excellent harmonies.”  He doesn’t want us to be worked into anything for our Papa God.

If the enemy can make us think of things right the opposite of what God wants us to think of, then we are found defeated, deflated and drained. Vulnerable, and in the right frame of mind for an attack.

So many times we get so busy with “life” that we tend to forget all the beautiful things that our Papa God has done for us. We get tired and our minds begin think of right the opposite of what we should be thinking of. When we find ourselves in this state of mind, Paul tells us….”Put into practice what you learned from me, what you heard saw and realized.

  • What have you learned from God in the past? What have I learned? What trials and difficulties did he bring us through?
  • What has our Papa God been telling you, telling me? When he’s whispered in our ears, what did we hear? “I love you and I am with you!”
  • What have we seen Him do? And what have we realized from it?  Go back and remember. Ask him to bring those things to your mind. What is it you’ve seen only he could have done! Ask him to help you realize it and then praise his Holy name! (Oh! this is good stuff!)

Paul says to think of those thoughts our Papa God wants us think of. Make them a habit to think of. Write them down. Practice them daily. Hide them in your heart. Say them over and over and over and over and over until they stick. Until they become a part of you. When a negative thought pops into your mind, combat it with right the opposite! Fight them with what is…

true ~ noble ~ reputable ~ authentic ~ compelling ~ gracious ~ the best ~ not the worst ~the beautiful ~not the ugly ~ things to praise ~ not to curse

“Papa God…as I think of these things, also lay upon my mind that you will work me into your most excellent harmonies!  I desire to be a pleasing effect” ~ Amen 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

