Just Around The Corner

comment 1
Uncategorized

photo (37)The older I get, I appreciate the perspective that “age” has given me to see things differently than I used to. Growing up as a child, I had pretty much a “worry-free” childhood. And I guess you could say that I was somewhat sheltered. I’m thankful for that though. I’m not sure I can say that about every child I come in contact with today. Then again this world is not the same world when I grew up. It’s just not. I see more and more “grand parents” raising their grandchildren. I know that this has to be a hard thing for them to do. I talk to them and my heart goes out to them as they care for their grandchildren. I see and hear their frustrations.  After raising their own children, now they are raising their grandchildren. This is just one example of a trail many people face today.

Every generation has things that make it tougher than the generation before them had. Life is tough period. No matter where you go in this world and talk to people, they will tell you life is hard and life is tough.

Whenever I talk to others who have gone through tough times and they’ve given God the glory for it, it makes my heart smile.  You can see that they have been “refined.” They’ve been through the “fire” so to speak and came out on the other side shining and praising God.

I know for myself, God has brought me through many trials and “fires.” I may have a little soot as a memento, but God has used those  trials and “fires” to refine me. A spiritual refining process.

When you hear of things happening all around the world that are so worrisome it can be down right frightening at times. I wonder, “Does God allow us, (me) to see everything going on in this world that is troublesome?” He knows what we can handle and what we can’t. He knows that we have all we can handle with what is going on in our own little spheres. And at times our own little spheres seem like they are spinning out of control don’t they? We may even be finding ourselves thinking that God isn’t on the job! Oh, but he is, and Peter tells us that glory is just around the corner…

Friends, when life gets really difficult, don’t jump to conclusion that God isn’t on the job. Instead, be glad you are in the very thick of what Christ experienced. This spiritual refining process, with glory just around the corner.” 1 Peter 4:12-13 MSG

On the outside it (we) may look pretty bad. But, we as God’s children know that going through the very thick of the fire (trial) is how God refines us! We don’t melt, dissolve or evaporate into a small puff of smoke! He brings us out on the other side refined, bright and beautiful!

If we believe God’s word then we have to believe what Peter is telling us. We are being refined with glory just around the corner.

Things may seem so destitute in a situation that you find yourself in, but when you are a child of the King, remember…

Glory is just around the corner

Just as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts higher than your thoughts.” Isaiah 55:9 NCV

We have this beautiful promise that we can tuck into our hearts and hold on to…glory just around the corner.

 

 

1 Comment

  1. “Glory is just around the corner.” I like that phrase! Of course, God’s glory surrounds us all the time, but we don’t always see it because of the smoke, the fire and the trials that you refer to. Your phrase reminds me of hiking. My husband and I willd set a goal of how far to hike and once we hiked that far, we would turn around to make it back to the car. The hardest part was turning around because we wanted to see what was around the corner- an unexpected view, something unique, another trail to follow. There is a longing to see what is around the corner that keeps us moving on the path and anticipating something better!

Leave a Reply

