It Really Is The Best Medicine

comment 1
Uncategorized

photo (29)Did God invent laughter? Sure He did. Does He want us to be laughing? He sure does! One of the most popular quotes about laughter…”Laughter is the best medicine.”

In doing a little research on the benefits of laughter, it’s led me to believe that it really is the best medicine. Here are some other quotes about laughter you may or may not have heard of…

A day wasted without laughter is a day wasted.” ~ Charlie Chaplin

Through humor, you can soften some of the worst blows that life delivers. And once you find laughter, no matter how painful your situation might be, you can survive it.” ~ Bill Cosby

The most wasted of all days is one without laughter.” ~ e. e. cummings

“Remember me with smiles and laughter, for that is how I will remember you all. If only remember me with tears, then don’t remember me at all.” ~ Laura Ingalls Wilder

Laughter is the sun that drives winter from the human face.” ~ Victor Hugo

“You can’t deny laughter; when it comes, it plops down in your favorite chair and stays as long as it wants.” ~ Stephen King

I could most definitely go on and on with more laughter quotes, but I will stop with this last one, which is a great one…

Laughter is God’s blessing.” ~ Joseph Prince

My favorite laugh quote is the one by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I’ve heard this one before and I think it’s just beautiful, especially knowing who wrote it.

Do you believe that last little quote? “Laughter is God’s blessing.” I guess I’ve never really thought of laughter as being a blessing, but when I get to thinking about it, I truly believe it is.

When you have one of those “good old belly laughs” you have to agree it makes you feel better. Doesn’t it? I know that there’s a time and a place for everything under heaven…

“To everything there is a season, and a time for every matter or purpose under heaven: A time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to pluck up what is planted, A time to kill and a time to heal, a time to break down and a time to build up, A time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance.” Ecclesiastes 3:1-4 AMP

photo (34)

I started researching the benefits from laughing. All I can say is, “Oh my goodness!” I didn’t realize laughter really is medicinal.  I found an article written by Melissa Breyer in 2011 entitled, “8 Health Benefits of Laughter.”

What can laughter do?:

  • Lower blood pressure
  • Increase vascular blood flow and oxygenation of the blood
  • Give a workout to the diaphragm and abdominal, respiratory, facial, leg, and back muscles
  • Reduce certain stress hormones such as cortisol and adrenaline
  • Increase the response to tumor and disease-killing cells such as Gamma-interferon and T-cells
  • Defend against respiratory infections-even reducing the frequency of colds-by immunoglobulon in saliva
  • Increase memory and learning; in a study at Johns Hopkins University Medical School, humor during instruction led to increased test scores
  • Improves alertness, creativity, and memory

I’m wondering…how does one go about signing up for a “laugh study” anyway? Hmmm…

After reading about the benefits, I am totally convinced God created laughter as a blessing for each of us. He created it, he wants us to do it, and he wants us to enjoy it.

Peter was addressing to the exiles scattered to the four winds saying, “Not one is missing, not one forgotten. God the Father has his eye on each of you, and has determined by the work of the Spirit to keep you obedient through the sacrifice of Jesus. May everything good from God be yours!” 1 Peter 1:1-2 MSG

What a blessing that Peter was giving the early church. What a blessing to us as well today.

“You never saw him, yet you love him. You still don’t see him, yet you trust him – with laughter and singing. Because you kept on believing, you’ll get what you’re looking forward to: total salvation.”  1 Peter 1:8-9 MSG

Two of my favorite things to do laughing and singing….Peter mentioned them both!

yet you trust him – with laughter and singing…

“…let me run loose and free, celebrating God’s great work, every bone in my body laughing, singing,”God, there’s none like you.”  Psalm 35: 9-10 MSG

“A blessing of laughter from our Papa God is only a smile away.”

photo (36)

This picture of this little girl with the bird on her head makes me laugh every time I see it! I just couldn’t resist….

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

  1. From the research of life, here are a few more benefits of laughter: defuse a situation, make a deeper connection with another person, unite the generations in a family by sharing the stories that make us laugh the longest and the hardest, and keeps life interesting!

Leave a Reply

