Friends + Family = Framily

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

photo (25)I love the friends and family “Sprint” commercials. They’re like a continuous and hilarious soap opera as they keep adding new friends and family to their shared phone plan. You’re missing out if you’ve not seen them yet. They’re great… or at least I think so. Funny and quirky which is right down my alley.

There’s so much to look at in each episode of the commercial that you can’t catch it all the first time it airs. But after the second time, you begin to pick out your favorite parts of it. (I can hear a friend of mine saying right now, “You need to get out more!”)

I get everyone in this commercial, but can someone please explain the little blonde headed girl who speaks french with the animated blue birds flying around her head? I’m still trying to figure her out.  Love the hamster, he’s my favorite.

Have  you ever heard the Idiom: “You can choose your friends, but you can’t choose family.”  How about a few other quotes…

God gives us our relatives, thank God we can choose our friends.” ~ Ethel Watts Mumford  

“Friends are relatives you make for yourself.” ~ Eustache Deschamps  

Cherish your human connections – your relationships with friends and family.” ~ Barbara Bush

As far back as I can remember, I’ve always been part of a “church family.” For the life of me, I can’t understand why some people choose not be a part of one. I would honestly feel like my right arm was cut off if I found myself on the outside looking in and not being a part of a body of believers.  A community of holy friends.

“Our marvelous God whose Word can make you into what he wants you to be and give you everything you could possibly need in this community of holy friends.” Acts 20:32 MSG

This verse doesn’t read like this…”Our marvelous God whose Word can make you into what he wants you to be and give you everything you could possibly need to just keep unto yourself.”

Our Papa God wants us to share this life he’s given us with others, our church “Framily” as I like to think of as my church family. I’m finding out just about every day (well, not really every day but…) that I’m kin to quite a few people at my church. I started praying the other day for my church family and was praying, “You know God, my church family like that commercial, framily.” I laughed a little bit wondering what God was thinking when I said this. I can’t help but believe that He was smiling too.

If you are reading this and are a part of a church family then you get it…you know what I’m talking about.  And if your’re not a part of a church family, then you’re really missing out on a blessing. Blessings upon blessings.

I’ve placed at the top of this post pictures of some of my close friends at church, but really…I wish that I could get all of my church framily into one big giant picture and show you the love of Christ.

Right after I had my car accident, my best friends from church, my “framily” was surrounding me as I lay in the emergency room. The doctor had just put the drain tube into my collapsed lung, and although I had been given morphine for my pain, I was with it enough to know that my friends were standing around me, covering me with their love and prayers. One of my sweet church friends was even helping me after I’d gotten sick the second day that I was in the hospital. Along with my church friends, my brother, sister-in-law and school family also came to visit me while I was there. No doubt I was loved. When I was released from the hospital meals were provided by our church “framily” for our family for two weeks! What a blessing for us to experience. Truly the hands and feet of Jesus.

God has given each of us in the body of Christ talents and gifts not to be kept to ourselves, but to share in a community of faith.

“Every day they devoted themselves to meeting together in the temple complex, and broke bread from house to house. They ate their food with joyful and humble attitude, praising God and having favor with all the people. And every day the Lord added to them those who were being saved.” Acts 2:46-47 HCSB

I can’t help but feel sorry for those that have various reasons for not connecting in a community of faith. And how it must break God’s heart.

Refreshed and sustained at one fountain – his Spirit.”

To be there for one another. Celebrate with each other. Cry with each other. Carry each others burdens. Pray for each other. When there’s a need, helping one another. Side by side praising our Papa God. Not only that, but loving each other inward, then outward. Reaching outside of our doors, to the outside community.

“You can easily enough see how this kind of thing works by looking no further than your own body. Your body has many parts – limbs, organs, cells – but no matter how many parts you can name, your’re still one body. It’s exactly the same with Christ. By means of his one Spirit, we all said good-bye to our partial and piecemeal lives. We each used to independently call our own shots, but then we entered into a large and integrated life in which he has the final say in everything. (This is what we proclaimed in word and action when we were baptized.) Each of us is now a part of his resurrection body, refreshed and sustained at one fountain – his Spirit – where we all come to drink.” 1 Corinthians 12:12-13 MSG

We all need each other, we need to connect with holy friends.

How sad it would be to drink from that fountain without being with others of His resurrection body. God made us to be “refreshers” for one another. Yes…sustained at one fountain, his Spirit, where He never intended for any of us to drink alone. Where we all come to drink!

I love my church “Framily.” I happen to think that they’re pretty awesome. Friends + Family =  Framily. The Family Plan that God intended!

 

 

Leave a Reply

