Are You For Real?

comments 2
Uncategorized

photo (28)There’s this little movie that came out in 2001, a romantic comedy. Also known as a “Chick Flick.”  A genre that I just happen to love. This movie had an (est) budget of $48 milllion. Worldwide at the box office it only brought in $76,019,048.  I have the same math disease that christian comedian Anita Renfroe has,”Fibromy-Algebra,” (Which precisely means..I stink at math) but even I can see that this movie did not do so well at the box office. But then again, these are usually the ones that I tend to like.

As the story line begins to unfold before us in this little obscure movie,”The Duke of Albany” leaves 1876 and awakens in 21st century New York. Can you guess what movie it is? After falling through a “time portal” he finds himself befriending a man named  “Charlie” who is an actor between gigs, and who believes that this man (The Duke) is an actor as well, steadfast in his character. Have you guessed yet?

The Duke falls again, but this time…for Charlie’s sister. If you’ve seen this movie, then you know by now it’s “Kate & Leopold”, starring Meg Ryan and Hugh Jackman.

Have you ever looked at someone and thought, or even said out loud to yourself, “Are they for real?”  Did you question in your mind if what this person “appeared” to stand for was for real? Are they the real deal?

Everyday we watch people. It’s just a part of our lives that we can’t get away from. No one can. We watch people. People watch us. Especially if we profess to have a personal relationship with Jesus. When you claim this, whether you like it or not you are under a microscope. People will watch you to see if you’re the “real deal.”

The Duke in this movie is being watched by everyone he comes in contact with and they wonder if he is for real.  Meg Ryan’s character Kate even asks Leopold at one point in the movie, “Are you for real?” His speech, mannerisms, and actions do not fit with that of the 21st century he has landed in. He is asked to make a commercial for a “diet butter.”  His actions, manners, and  gentleman ways would sell the consumer on the idea of this being the best diet butter you could ever eat or want! Being dressed in his 1876 Duke attire they begin to shoot the commercial. But Leopold finds the butter disgusting. He declares, “This tastes like saddle soap!” Before he walks off the set, he tells Kate, “When someone is involved in something entirely without merit, one withdraws.” He knows he could not honestly tell people that the butter was a good thing when in fact it was not. His integrity meant everything to him. Yes, he was for real, he was the real deal.

When we are right where our Papa God would have us in our walk with him we should not worry what people say or think of us.

“What you say about yourself means nothing in God’s work. It’s what God says about you that makes the difference.” 2 Corinthians 10:18 MSG

You may even be faced with someone asking you about your authenticity. That’s not such a bad thing, maybe they’re just curious as to why you do some of the things you do. I know I’ve been asked about why I blog now. My answer? God encourages me through His word, I want to encourage others, and I “Can’t Keep Quiet” about it.

“Their fascination deepened when they realized these two were laymen with no training in Scripture or formal education. They recognized them as companions of Jesus.” Acts 4:13-14 MSG

The highest compliment anyone could ever have, being known as a “companion of Jesus.”  Peter and John were for real, they were the real deal.

“We can’t keep quiet about what we’ve seen or heard.” ~ Peter & John Acts 4:20 MSG

I know I’ve said this before, and probably will say this many more times in my lifetime…I’m so thankful that God made us all different. If we were all alike, what a boring place this planet would be. I firmly believe that He has given us all different interests, gifts and talents. When we use these for His glory, what a beautiful thing we bring before Him.  And with those interests, gifts and talents, we don’t have to self promote. He will promote us at the right time.

I love the verses in 1 Peter 5:6-7.  (Which have become some of my favorite verses.)  Our Papa God wants us to be real and be content with who we are. I will never be a “Beth Moore”, “Lysa TerKeurst,” or a “Priscilla Shirer.” If what I post is just for one person, then that’s who it’s exactly for.

So be content with who you are, and don’t put on airs.  God’s strong hand is on you; he’ll promote you at the right time. Live carefree before God; he is most careful with you.” 1 Peter 5:6-7 MSG

You may be wondering, do I believe what I write? You better believe I do. I believe God’s word is truth and never returns null or void!

“So my word that comes from my mouth will not return to Me empty, but it will accomplish what I please and will prosper in what I send it to do.” Isaiah 55:11 HCSB 

My Papa God has drawn me with his loving kindness to read and cherish His word. I don’t ever want to be known as anything other than someone who loves her Papa God with all of her heart, soul and mind. And for now, I will continue to keep on “bloggin from my noggin” as long it’s God’s will for me to. My prayer is that I would never get in the way of what He wants to accomplish in bringing glory to Him. Praying also that what I say and do will always be the “real deal” in lining up with God’s Holy Word, and that His word will always be encouraging.~ Selah

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. A frequent prayer for myself is for boldness in my faith! All part of being the real deal for God. Jesus was not quiet about his faith and his Father! I agree with your approach to blogging. It is enough to simply encourage just one person! But don’t you find that WordPress makes it easy to dwell on statistics?!!!! We live in a world that tells us more of us is better. But we know that more of God is best!

Leave a Reply

