A Trust Without Borders

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

photo (27)When you get a song stuck in your head, what do you do with it? Really…I’m asking,”What do you do with it?” Do you enjoy it? Do you hate it? (Cause it’s kind of annoying) Do you want to listen to it over and over again? (No thank you if it’s “Chicka-Chicka-Boom-Boom… just kidding. If you work with Kindergartners you would understand!)

I can get songs stuck in my head, and dad-gum-it they just won’t go away sometimes! Most of the time though, I do happen to like the ones that tend to get stuck.

This one song that will not leave my brain at the moment is a “Hillsong” song called “Oceans” (Where Feet May Fail). I love this song. Apparently I’m not the only one that happens to love it either. I pulled it up on YouTube, it has 14,878,098 views.

Whenever I sit down to work on a post for my blog, I tune into Pandora and hit the Praise and Worship stations and listen to them while writing. The Hillsong station is one that I listen to most often here lately.

God speaks to me through songs and through music. And I’m so glad that he does! What a beautiful way for him to communicate to me. I love to sing, and I love music. My Papa God knows this about me, he knows what speaks to my heart at times when words are not enough.

Here’s a little background information on the band “Hillsong” from Wikipedia…

The Hillsong United band is a worship band that originated as part of Hillsong Church. The band tours the world, performing at the various Hillsong church locations as well as general concert venues. They’re from Sydney, Australia. Their genre is Worship music, contemporary Christian, and Christian Rock. Years active, 1998-present. Their song “Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)” hit number on on the American Billboard Christian Songs chart at the end of 2013. The song also appeared on the Billboard Hot 100 in May 2014.

Oh that I would have such a faith in Jesus, that it would be without borders! Part of this song keeps replaying over and over in my mind. “Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders let me walk upon the waters wherever You would call me take me deeper than my feet could ever wander and my faith will be made stronger in the presence of my Savior.” 

My Papa God has a message for me in this song. There is a message for us all. And I can’t help but think of the disciples being in the boat after Jesus climbed the mountain so he could be by himself and pray. Jesus stayed there alone, late into the night. Meanwhile, the boat was far out to sea when the wind came up against them and they were battered by the waves. Jesus came walking toward them walking on the water. They were scared, crying out in terror. Are you scared about something?  But Jesus was quick to comfort them. “Courage, it’s me. Don’t be afraid.” Jesus is there ready to comfort, take courage and don’t be afraid! Peter, suddenly bold, said, “Master, if it’s really you, call me to come to you on the water.”  Is Jesus calling you to walk on the water? He said, “Come ahead.” Jumping out of the boat, Peter walked to Jesus, But when he looked down at the waves churning beneath his feet, he lost his nerve and started to sink. Have you walked so far, lost your nerve only to look down at your churning waves, not sure if Jesus can handle it? He cried, “Master, save me!” Jesus didn’t hesitate. He reached down and grabbed his hand.” Jump out of  your boat. Jesus is there ready to hold your hand as you let the Spirit lead you where your trust is without borders, walk upon the waters wherever He calls you. Go deeper than your feet could ever wander! Your faith will be made stronger in the presence of your Savior.  (Scripture taken from Matthew 14: 22-31 MSG) 

I’ve attached the YouTube Hillsong of “Oceans”.  I hope you take the time to listen to this song. I pray you will be blessed by the message in this song as I have been!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

