Loving The Disobedient

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

He doesn’t do what I ask most of the time. He can be a little smelly. His hair comes out. I have to sweep it up often. He doesn’t clean up after himself. He pretty much lays around the house, until someone comes over that he doesn’t particularly care for, then his energy kicks in.

I yell at him at least once a day. Well, maybe twice a day. His eating habits are atrocious. And get this…his snoring is so loud, it sounds like a freight train running off track in a hail storm! We all have to “hush” his snoring from time to time.

I’m not sure you would want George Clooney living at your house. But that’s who lives at ours, and this is who I’m talking about.

He does have his strange ways about him, and he is disobedient at times. We forgive him and love him.

Oh…you’re thinking the movie actor George Clooney? Naw…it’s our Pug we rescued a few years ago!

Yes, our George Clooney is disobedient. It never fails, when he’s sitting out on the front porch and someone is walking their dog out on the road, he flies off of our porch like “Cujo.” We yell at him, and get him back in the house. And if we don’t watch it, he barks at the heels of the FedEx, UPS, or mailman.

I’m making him out to sound like a mean dog, but he’s really not at all. He is very sweet, and I guess you could say territorial with his family. But that doesn’t excuse his disobedience.

photo (14)

Poor George Clooney was a victim of a lady with too many animals to handle in her home. When the news had aired George’s story, his owner had around 38 animals.  She had dogs, cats and a couple of horses in her possession. Her animals were taken away from her and placed in our local pound. She had several different types of pure bred dogs who were beautiful. I’m sure George’s territorial tendencies and his disobedience stems from his previous owner and the conditions that his was living in.

Seeing his sad face along with two other pugs in the cage at the pound broke my heart.  I was on a mission to rescue him.  All of the animals were tied up in a court dispute. As they sat waiting for their owner trying to get them back, I went just about everyday to see when he would be released. I called a friend of mine hoping he could help me. It sure helps to have friends in high places. My friend used to work for the TBI. (Tennessee Bureau of Investigation) He helped me rescue George that day. When he called me and said, “Beth go get your dog!” I wasted no time in getting our Pug. I brought him home and named him “George Clooney.”

Although George has his own agenda when it comes to listening and obeying us most of the time, we love him in spite of his disobedience.

Just like George, I get lazy at times. And I’m sure the stench of my disobedience is not very pleasant. But God loves me, disobedience and all. So much so that he sent his one and only son Jesus to die on the cross for my sins.

God’s specialty is mercy and love!  God loves me in spite of what I do. When I ask for forgiveness he tosses my sin and my disobedience to the bottom of the ocean.

He rescued me.

“Where is the god who can compare with you – wiping the slate clean of guilt, turning a blind eye, deaf ear, to the past sins of your purged and precious people? You don’t nurse your anger and don’t stay angry long, for mercy is your specialty. That’s what you love most. And compassion is on its way to us. You’ll stamp out our wrongdoing. You’ll sink our sins to the bottom of the ocean.” Micah 7:18-20 MSG

I was on his mind while compassion was on the cross.

Compassion was on its way to me before time began. Compassion was on its way to me before I was born, forming into his own. Compassion was and is always on the way to me. Forgiving me in mercy and love, sinking my sins to the bottom of the ocean. No one but Jesus can do this for me.

Jesus loves the disobedient.

 

Leave a Reply

