The Musings Of A Card-Zarf

comment 1
Uncategorized

securedownloadCoffee sleeve, coffee cup sleeve, coffee clutch, coffee cozy, hot cup jacket, cup holder, paper zarf, and card-zarf. “Card-Zarf” gets my vote for the best name! Who in the world knew that those little card sleeves that you plop over your coffee-cup-to-go could have that many names? I certainly did not.

The little coffee sleeve aka “card-zarf” was invented and patented by a Jay Sorensen in 1993 (under the trademarked name Java Jacket), and are now commonly utilized by coffee houses and other vendors that sell hot beverages dispensed in disposable paper cups. All of this info according to Wikipedia.

It amazes me with some of the things that people invent. Why in the world could I have not thought of something like this. And how many times have you thought that same thing after being handed your “White Chocolate Mocha” while exiting the drive-thru at Starbucks?

If you’re not a coffee lover, then all of this forthright knowledge may not amount to a hill of coffee beans to you. Either way, you’ve had to have seen the “zarfs” in action while being turned upside down in a coffee lovers hand!

I admit I love Starbucks coffee. It’s a treat for me. I don’t get them that often. I’m afraid if I did, it would be a habit that I could not afford very long! But yes, I do treat myself to the occasional “twin-tailed mermaid” graced cup of coffee every now and then. Such being the case as I was leaving my doctor’s appointment the other day. I walked by the tiny coffee vendor while leaving the hospital and couldn’t resist the aroma. A tall blonde blend with one pump of caramel, two raw sugars and half and half. I was more than good to go.

I usually don’t pay attention to the “card-zarf” that is around my coffee cup, but this day I did.

“Know what sparks the light in you. Then use that light to illuminate the world.” ~ Oprah Winfrey

Please don’t think that I am promoting anything that Oprah Winfrey has to say. (I think that she has a good heart, and appears to do good things for people. I believe she has “head” knowledge of God, but sadly, no “heart” knowledge. That’s just my opinion for all it’s worth.) But when I turned the zarf slightly, this is what it said on the other side.

“Steep Your Soul” Teavana and Oprah invite you to take a few moments to pause and reflect each day. Your own personal “steep time.”

All of that sounds pretty good doesn’t it? Something is missing from the “zarf” though.

What if your coffee cup sleeve said this instead…

“You are the light of the world.  A city set on a hill cannot be hidden; nor does anyone light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on the lamp stand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.” Mathew 5:14-16 NASB

There really is a great message about having your own personal “steep time.” But, who or what are we steeping in?

Then, what if you turned your cup a tad bit more and it said this…

Steep yourself in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions. You’ll find all your everyday human concerns will be  met.” Luke 12:31-32 MSG

“Let your light shine. Glorify your Father in heaven.”

“Steep yourself in me.” ~ God

That’s what God’s “card-zarf” would say.

 

 

1 Comment

  1. My cheery friend of fun words, please, keep up the “good word.” I really appreciate how you use The Message frequently because it was God’s strategic wording that cooled off my religious burn-out! You’re a pleasure and I’m grateful you allow me to “host” you on my word-webby little site.

Leave a Reply

