Garbage Can or Crystal Goblet?

comments 2
Uncategorized

photo (13)Picking out china patterns and crystal was a big deal back in the day before I became a young bride. So…I did what every young bride was supposed to do, and picked out just the right pattern that I thought I would use in our household for many years to come.

Guess what? I’ve only used my china and glassware a few times in the 34 years that I’ve been married. Am I the only one who has ever done this? Probably not.

I have never been a “fru-fru” person. I didn’t pick out the most expensive, elaborate or “fru-fru” pattern and glassware, I picked me. A simple pattern called “Reverie” by Nortiake. And yes, “fru fru” is a word, sort of.  According to urbandictionary.com. it is.

Fru Fru – 1. very decorated or girly in nature. 2. lacy or frilly in nature.

It’s not Waterford, Cashs, Riedel or Royal Doulton. But, I thought it was very pretty years ago, and still do today.

I started rambling around in our sideboard, and pulled out my china and glassware that has taken a nap for the past, oh let’s say 30-something years. I sat it up and took a picture. Hopefully you can see the little lady bug crawling on the stem of a yellow flower. That little lady bug was the deciding factor for me. And you know what…getting my china out makes me want to use at least the coffee cup and saucer. Think I’ll at least keep that out and enjoy in the mornings…why not!

One day I found myself looking at various crystal patterns on the internet.  And I will have to say, I have expensive taste. Yikes! Still being drawn to the plain and ordinary patterns, I noticed a not so plain and ordinary price tag! Maybe with age comes…expensive taste? I was meandering through the bowls, vases and goblets, and I was liking what tended to have a higher price tag than others. And Kevin… if you’re reading this, no I am not shopping, just doing a little research. (Whew!)

Whenever I read “The Message” version of the bible, well…it just makes sense.

In 2 Timothy Paul has us thinking about the most gathered place in our homes, the “kitchen.”  The hub for families. A place where we find food, and drink that sustain us. What’s in the kitchen besides food though? You have to have the pots, pans, and cooking utensils. You have your plates, silverware, and cups. Maybe crystal goblets to drink from?  Silver trays to serve and eat off of?  But, you also have to have the garbage can.

This is what he says referring to the kitchen; “In a well-furnished kitchen there are not only crystal goblets and silver platters, but waste cans and compost buckets – some containers used to serve fine meals, others to take out the garbage. Become the kind of container God can use to present any and every kind of gift.” 2 Timothy 2:20-21 MSG

I want to be the kind of container that God can use. One that presents the gifts that He has blessed me with.

“Become the kind of container God can use”

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Thanks for your message! A corollary: Jesus fills us with his finest while getting rid of the garbage of us.

Leave a Reply

