I’m Not In The Driver’s Seat

comments 3
Uncategorized

c0d9d9369998010fc10b806bc5db87e4My palms start getting sweaty and my heart starts racing a tad bit. My stomach turns and churns just thinking about it. I’ve thought about it in the middle of the night a few times. During the day I think about it even more, knowing all the while it’s silly to worry over.

So what is all the sweat and palpitation about? Driving, getting behind the wheel again…and I’m nervous and yes a little scared about it. I have driven for 38 years without one single accident. And I don’t mean to toot my own horn, but most people probably can’t say this. I know that I’m a good driver. None of us anticipate another driver being reckless and running a red light!  Oh, and dear driver in the car behind me from now on… I have a message for you, “I’m waiting at my green light a few seconds longer from now on. So go ahead and blow your horn, I may just be saving your life as well as mine!”

If I were rich, I would hire a chauffeur to drive me around everywhere. You know, kind of like “Driving Miss Daisy.” I wouldn’t really do that…but it is a nice thought.  Don’t you just love this movie?  Jessica Tandy and Morgan Freeman, who could ever forget those two actors?

Daisy Werthan: Did you have the air conditioning  checked? I told you to have the the air conditioning checked.

Hoke Colburn: I had the air conditioning checked. I don’t know what for. You never allow me to turn it on.

Daisy Werthan: Hush up!   (*From Driving Miss Daisy Quotes)

It’s been seven weeks since our car accident. So, the days of talking it up and encouraging myself are more frequent than the far between. I don’t even want to see the intersection where it happened. Kevin keeps saying, “It wasn’t your fault.” I know it wasn’t, but I’m just not ready to visit that sight right now.

I am so thankful my Papa God spared me and Maria that day. And I will continue to thank him for as long as I live. It could have very well been that day, but God in his mercy and love said…

“Not today my child, not today”

Worries and fears can grip us. Remember I have confessed that I am a “4G Worrywart”, which is the title of one of my blogs back in February. So I do come by this honestly.

Two of my very best and sweet friends were each in car accidents years ago. They both have told me that it does take some time to get back behind the wheel again. I know what God’s word says and I cling to it daily.

What a God! His road stretches straight and smooth. Every God-direction is road-tested.” Psalm 18:30 MSG

Setting out on a search through His word for encouragement to get behind the wheel again, I came across these verses…

He protectively cares for his faithful friends, step by step.” 1 Samuel 2:8 MSG

Absolutely everything ranging from small to large, as you make it a part of your believing prayer, gets included as you lay hold of God.” Matthew 21:22 MSG 

Jesus…said, “No chance at all if you think you can pull it off yourself. Every chance in the world if you trust God to do it.” Matthew 19:26 MSG

“Build me up by your word. Barricade the road that goes nowhere; grace me with your clear revelation. I choose the true road to somewhere, I post your road signs at every curve and corner. I grasp and cling to whatever you tell me.” Psalm 119:29-31 MSG

These are just a hand full of verses that I wanted to share with you. His word is full, absolutely overflowing with encouragement for us all! All we have to do is seek and we will find it.

“Anyone who intends to come with me has to let me lead. You’re not in the driver’s seat; I am.” Matthew 16:24 MSG

 

 

 

3 Comments

  1. Prayers for God’s protection upon you and your family. As we let go of the fear, God fills us with His courage to overcome!

  2. Prayers for God’s protection upon you and your family. As we let go of the fear, God fills us with His courage to overcome!

Leave a Reply

