Like A Sweet Perfume

comments 3
Uncategorized

photo (12)I sat on my front porch quiet as a mouse, careful not to move or make a sound. The tiny helicopter hovered near me, drawn to the potted flower that was placed on the table next to me. I gasped as I always do. I am left amazed every time I see a hummingbird up close and personal. My little friend didn’t find what he was looking for and I wondered if he would come back for a visit.

I glanced down and saw the “antique” hummingbird bottle feeder. It was right where it has been for the past few months. Sitting on the edge of the porch right under the railing, holding a stagnate dingy colored water. Nothing that my little friend would want for sure.

I felt guilty and terrible that I did not have anything for this little hummer. No red flowers, and no feeder with clean fresh nectar that would draw him back to visit.

I love sitting on my front porch soaking in the lazy days of summer. On days that I don’t have to go anywhere or do anything, this is my vice…my “happy place.” I love to read a good book outside…there’s just something about being out, being free and not shut up in the house. A lot of times I will bring my coffee, bible and journal out here of a morning and relish the last few days of freedom before school starts back. Summer, is truly that time of “refreshing” for me.  This one particular day was graced for me by one of God’s beautiful little creatures.

I had a couple of choices, I could leave the hummingbird feeder right there on the edge of the porch, or take it in and clean it up, refilling it with fresh water and powdered nectar. I already knew my little friend wasn’t drawn to what was already in the feeder.

I took it into the kitchen and began to disassemble the feeder. It was gunky and kind of gross. But I cleaned it out, rinsing it several times. I found the powdered nectar and poured it into the feeder. I took it outside and placed it on the shepherds hook. I even attached a large fuchsia flower to the top of the shepherds hook in hopes he would like the added touch.

Now all I had to do was wait. Was he up in the tree watching me? Could he see that I had taken the feeder in and cleaned it out, putting fresh water and nectar in for him? And then… there he was. I heard him before I saw him.

He flew all around the feeder then up to the flower as if to admire it, then he flew back to take a drink of the sweet nectar that had drawn him there. He liked it! He was drawn back!

Our lives are a lot like that hummingbird feeder. We can be full of “stagnate-gunk” on the inside, repelling others. Or, cleaned out with fresh water and nectar with the sweet aroma of Christ.

“Soak me in your laundry and I’ll come out clean, scrub me and I’ll have a snow-white life.” Psalm 51:7 MSG

Are we, am I drawing others to Christ? Do they smell the sweet fragrance of him in my life? Or do they smell a “stagnate-gunky” smell repelling them away from me?

“He uses us (when we allow Him to) to spread the knowledge of Christ everywhere, like a sweet perfume. Our lives are a Christ-like fragrance rising up to God.” 2 Corinthians 1:14-15 NLT

 

3 Comments

  1. Belinda Wilson Davis says

    That’s such a good question. So many times I’ve been in that stagnant state and have had to cleanse myself in God’s word because I knew I wasn’t drawing people to him. This was a GREAT devotional Beth. Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

