Tennessee Hillbilly

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

87b1be39689a17e975df67d8556574d6
I watched the show “The Beverly Hillbillies” growing up, and I loved it.  Maybe as a young kid I realized I was a bit of a “hillbilly” myself. Living here in the south, I could relate to this family who happened to be really comfortable with who they were.

Wikipedia has the low down on this family…The Beverly Hillbillies is an American sitcom originally broadcast for nine seasons on CBS from September 26, 1962 to March 23, 1971, starring Buddy Ebsen, Irene Ryan, Donna Dlouglas, and Max Baer, Jr.  The Beverly Hillbillies ranked among the top twenty most watched programs on television for eight of its nine seasons, twice ranking as the number one series of the year, with a number of episodes that remain among the most watched television episodes of all time.

This says a lot about what people liked to watch several years ago.  Just a clean and very funny show.  Sad, but that doesn’t seem to be the case today. As Uncle Jed would say…

“What in tar-nation!” 

One of many “fun facts” about the show…Granny referred to herself as Dr. Granny, M.D. on the show.  What does the M.D. stand for as it applies to Granny?  Mountain Doctor.  Granny had many talents. She was the best road-kill cook ever.

This family plopped themselves smack dab right in the middle of the very rich and very famous Beverly Hills section in “Cal-a-forn-e-i-a” after striking it rich from the discovery of oil on their poor back woods property back home.

I can even remember the morning my Mom and Dad told me that “Granny Clampet” (Irene Ryan) had passed away in 1973 as I was getting ready to go to school. They had heard it on the radio and relayed the information to me. I can even remember my Dad saying, “I wonder if she knew the Lord?”  It’s funny how certain things tend to stick in your mind.

The Beverly Hillbillies were truly comfortable in their own skin weren’t they?  Jethro was probably a little more comfortable than the rest of the family. He never gave up that dream of being a “007” spy….I mean a “double naught” spy did he?   I tell you who was not comfortable, Mildred Drysdale . When they went to visit this neighbor, she would snub her nose. They banked with her husband Milburn, but that didn’t mean she had to be friends with them.

In sharing with you about one of my favorite TV shows growing up, I wanted to make a point about plain people. Peter wanted to make a point about plain people also. He even tells us that God takes delight in just plain people.

I’m afraid that too often we try think we may not look good enough, or be educated enough.  It’s so easy to get caught up in comparing ourselves with others. I know all about this, I can get caught in this trap too.

God loves you just the way you are.  God loves me just the way I am.  I couldn’t be someone else even if I tried….oh I’ve tried a few times in my life to emulate others.  I failed miserably when I did.  God made me plain, much like The Beverly Hillbillies.  As the years have gone by I have come to an understanding about being comfortable in my own skin so to speak.

“God has had it with the proud, but takes delight in just plain people. So be content with who you are, and don’t put on airs. God’s strong hand is on you; he’ll promote you at the right time. Live carefree before God; he is most careful with you.” 1 Peter 5:5-7 MSG

Papa God, your word tells me you delight in just plain people. Help me to be content with how you formed me! The me that I’m supposed to be. Help me not to put on airs, that’s not me, that’s not who I am and how you made me.  Thank you that your strong hand is on me! You’ll promote me at just the right time. Your timing is always perfect.  I’m so excited to live carefree before YOU!  Oh…and Papa God, thank you for being careful with me.” ~ Beth

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

