Say My Name

comments 4
Uncategorized

bb17bb2bf79c55c4cbd4e9381c512430Right after we adopted Maria from Bulgaria, we had friends over to our house one night so that they could meet our little spit fire gypsy, yes…I did say gypsy.  She is of the “Roma” descent of which we happen to be very proud of by the way.

When we got back home with her, our days were filled with family members, church friends and friends coming by to meet her.

This one particular night was quite entertaining for all of us.  This is what went down…

After having settled into somewhat of a routine with Maria, a couple that is friends of ours wanted to come over one night and meet her.  They were from out of town and and were visiting their families who happen to live near by.  Maria had been somewhat shy with our friends and family so far, but she was warming up with each new visit.

They came through the door very excited to see her, she likewise was enthusiastic in seeing them.  “Hi Maria!” came their greeting.  They introduced themselves and said, “Can you say my name?” And this was Maria’s reply in her best “Beyonce” pose singing at the top her her lungs, “Say my name, say my name.”

WHAT!!!

It took us all a second to realize she was belting out the number one hit from “Destiny’s Child.”

Yep…that’s my girl!!!

What in the world!  I had no idea, we had no idea she even knew that song!  Although she knew only the chorus to this song, she knew it and knew it well!   It didn’t take her long to pick up and share this uncanny ability of hers to know words from songs after hearing them just once or twice.  This still amazes us even today.  And yes she knows every word to every song that she happens to love.

We all stood there that night and laughed until our sides literally ached.  She knew we loved her performance, so she kept right on entertaining us.  One of those sweet memories tucked away that we will cherish forever.

You may think this is way too weird what I’m about to say next, but if this has ever happened to you, then you know what I am talking about.

Sometimes when I am out in town, and when I am all by myself, I will hear someone call my name.  I turn around and look to find no one there.  And I really don’t see anyone talking to another person that happens to have my name.  Is the voice audible? Yes, it sure is.  This has happened to me more times than I can really count.  It never fails, when I hear my name, I immediately jerk my head all around to see who was in fact calling my name.  Crazy right?  Maybe not…

We all go through times in our lives when we think, “What else is going to happen to me?”  Can you relate?  God never promised us an easy time on this earth, but he did promise that he would never leave or forsake us!

“The Lord your God is the one who goes with you.  He will not fail you or forsake you.”  Deuteronomy 31:6 NASB

Do you believe this my friend?  I do! Because you know why?  Not once has my Papa God failed me or forsaken me!  Can I get an amen!

Maybe…just maybe that’s my Papa God’s voice saying my name?  I truly believe that it is.  Call me crazy…

I choose to believe that when I hear a voice saying my name and can’t really attest to where it comes from, my heavenly father is letting me know that he is right with me in each step that I take, and in each and every trial that I have faced or about to face.

“Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by your name; you are mine.”  Isaiah 43:1 HCSB

He has redeemed me, and I am His!

He knows my name.

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

  1. Sherri says

    ………………………………………….Love you girl !!!! and great blog BTW

  2. Sheila Bennett says

    Beth…your words seem to always penetrate into the very corners of my heart and so many times it is as if you wrote them just for me.

    • Shelia…In His love, God penetrates our hearts with encouragement. My prayer is that His word will encourage others as it does me 😉 So glad you stopped by friend!

Leave a Reply

