Heavenly Distractions

comments 2
Uncategorized

photo (2)

I tend to make things harder for myself then they actually are.  Do you ever feel that way about yourself?  I “over think” things, and I “over analyze”.  I often go about things the hard way, when I just need to keep it simple.  I’ll admit I do have a tad bit of stubbornness running through my veins, which could be the culprit behind “over thinking” things.  And please don’t ask my husband about that “tad” bit of stubbornness…I’m afraid he would beg to differ!

Plans I make often end up being complicated.  I used to be a lot worse…..I am getting a little bit better about it though.

I wonder at times what it must have been like for people who lived in the 1800’s.  That time period fascinates me.  I love to read books and watch movies about back then.  Although that place in time had their own set of problems in life…they were free from the “technology trap” that has us enslaved today.

I’ll be the first to admit, if I don’t have my iPhone with me, I feel lost!  After leaving school one day, I had driven down the road a short distance to go to my second little job, when it dawned on me that I had left my phone at school.  I quickly turned around, with a heart racing and  my sweaty palms, I proceeded to go back to school to retrieve my life!  I ran in the school building as fast as I could all the way to the other end of the school where my class is, and picked up “my precious”…(to make that scene more effective in your mind please be sure to say “my precious” in Gollum’s voice from Lord of the Rings.)

To make a long story short, I threw my back out by running that day.  I have never had back pain like that…but as my daughter always says, “That’s what you get!”

Really, was I going to be that lost without my phone?  I certainly thought so….and I guarantee you that if I had known that I  was going to throw my back out and be in that kind of pain, I would have given it a second thought before running back like a maniac.

What makes us feel this way?  What makes us think that we can not live without our iPhone, iPad, iPod, Laptop, or even TV?  We make excuses that we can do everything on our phones…well, we can.  We can talk, text, email, google, check the latest  news, and check the weather. Don’t forget the games that pass our time away.   You name it and we can just about do it all…which makes us think we can’t live without it.

Even though technology has made things easier for us, it also complicates our lives…wouldn’t you agree?

Look what Paul had to say in his first letter to the Corinthians ~ “Don’t complicate your lives unnecessarily.  Keep it simple – in marriage, grief, joy whatever.  Deal as sparingly as possible with the things the world thrusts on you.  This world as you see it is on it’s way out…live as free of complications as possible.”  1 Corinthians 7:29-32  MSG

So if Paul was  encouraging the Corinthians to live a life free of complications, what would be their end result by doing so?  What would or could be the benefits of that kind of life?  “I’m trying to be helpful and make it as easy as possible for you, not make things harder.  All I want is for you to be able to develop a way of life in which you can spend plenty of time together with the Master without a lot of distractions.”  1 Corinthians 7:35  MSG

Where technology has made things easier for us…it’s also made us distracted.  Being distracted does not = simple.

We all need “heavenly distractions.”   Take a walk outside at night when the sky is clear, look up at the stars shining brightly.  Look at the clouds that from various shapes.  Walk through a field of daisies.  Walk on the edge of the ocean shore.  Take a hike in the mountains.  Go wading in a creek.

Our Papa God wants us to live an uncomplicated, simple life and free of distractions.  But we have to want that way of life and activate it by simply being simple each day, and  letting him know we yearn for that way of life.

“Divert my eyes from toys and trinkets, invigorate me on the pilgrim way.”  Psalm 119:37  MSG

photo (1)

 

2 Comments

    • Thank you. Just when I wonder if I should continue to write, God sends someone along to encourage me. Thank you for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

