Work At It

comment 1
Uncategorized

20140610-085454-32094668.jpg
It has never occurred to me that I may not be getting along with God. I guess I’ve never really thought about it, until I read a little snippet in Hebrews.

“Work at getting along with each other and with God.” Hebrews 12:14 MSG

I read this one small sentence over and over. I kept asking myself, “Do I work at getting along with God?” But if I ask that question, I have to go in the order as the verse appears, how Paul presents this to us…”Do I work at getting along with others?”

Paul must have “deemed” it necessary to mention this and to say it this particular way. Also notice the verse says “work at.”

Let’s just face it, there are some people who are easier to get along with than others…am I right? And I honestly do not have anyone in mind as I write this…it’s just that this one particular verse caught my eye.

God draws our eyes and hearts to his word so that we can learn from it, and live it out loud.

There is more to this verse though…”Work at getting along with each other, and with God. Otherwise you’ll never get so much as a glimpse of God.” . My eyes zeroed in on that last part and stopped right there.

How in the world does someone “work at” something?

Have you ever heard this expression? “If you want something bad enough you’ll work at it?”

If “working at” getting along with others depends on us getting a glimpse of God, shouldn’t this make us see things differently? Make us want to “work at” and change things? It’s sure made me stop and chew on this small verse for awhile.

How can I “work at” getting along with others, then get along with God?

“Be agreeable, be sympathetic, be loving, be compassionate, be humble. No retaliation. No sharp tongued sarcasm. Instead, bless – that’s your job, to bless. You’ll be a blessing and also get a blessing.” 1 Peter 3:8-9 MSG

Our Papa God loves us, no doubt about it! But He also wants us to love others . He wants us to “work at” getting along with others. Communication with God (prayer, just plain old talking with him) is that key! Christ’s peace is waiting to be activated by simply asking for it. We’re even told to “run after” it.

“Whoever wants to embrace life and see the day fill up with good, here’s what you do: say nothing evil or hurtful; snub evil and cultivate good; run after peace for all you’re worth.” 1 Peter 3:10-11 MSG

“Let the peace of Christ keep you in tune with each other, in step with each other.” Colossians 3:15

1 Comment

  1. Sonia Velez says

    I had a rough day today and this really dealt with most of what happened! Thanks for your devotionals!

Leave a Reply

