Let Faith Arise

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

pic a

Little things in this life we live are often taken for granted.  Driving through a green light, and stopping at a red light were two of mine.

Putting my faith and trust in a light to get me through to the other side of an intersection should have been a very insignificant space in time for both me and my daughter Maria on Friday, May 30th 2014…but it ended up being right the opposite.

When you have a green light, you know that’s your signal to go right?  And when it’s red you’re supposed to stop…supposed to.

A day just for me and my Maria.  We were shopping, getting just a few things for a beach trip coming up.  We were on our way home easing out for a green light, and then everything happened so fast.  We literally did not know what hit us. We were “T-boned” by a car running a red light.

None of us are guaranteed tomorrow.  Each breath that we take for as long as we live is a gift from God.  I’ve always known this to be true deep down in my heart.  When mine and my daughter’s world stopped on that day, my Papa God was breathing into her perfect lungs with no injuries (praise His Holy name!) and He was breathing into my lungs that had collapsed.

These are the words that I had written in my journal just the day before;

I woke up this morning with Chris Tomlin’s song, “I lift my hands” with the refrain of  ‘Let faith arise, Let faith arise,’ followed by the course ‘I lift my hands to believe again, You are my refuge, You are my strength as I pour out my heart, these things I remember You are faithful God, forever.’ Don’t you just love it when you wake up with a song like this on your heart and mind?

“For the Lord your God is living among you.  He is a mighty savior.  He will take delight in you with gladness.  With his love, he will calm all your fears.  He will rejoice over you with joyful songs.”  Zephaniah 3:17 NLT

God had his mighty angels in the car with me and Maria.  He even sent one on foot as soon as it happened, opening Maria’s door and seeing if we were ok.  With her phone in her hand she immediately called for help, called my husband and one of our sons.  I wasn’t able to move.  My brave daughter reached out with the love of Jesus and began to comfort me, patting my leg and assuring me that help was on the way.

“God is magnificent; he can never be praised enough.  There are no boundaries to his greatness.”  Psalm 145:3  MSG

Maria was treated then released from the hospital, I however, had a broken clavicle on the left side, broken ribs and collapsed lung.

We were surrounded by our family and friends.  A circle of God’s love around us.  Prayers going up on our behalf before the throne of God, was a blanket over me.  God held me close and he never let go!

This may have taken me by surprise but it didn’t for one minute with my Papa God!  You see…He knew what that day held for me and my daughter.  He prepared my surgeon’s hands.  He blessed me with a wonderful staff of nurses and doctors.

“The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave or forsake you.  Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”  Deuteronomy 31:8  NIV

God loves us and he wants us to love each other.  The hands and feet of Jesus came to me in the hospital, and continues to in various forms even today.  His love pouring generously out to me and my family daily.  Food, flowers, cards, visits, texts, phone calls, and most of all prayers.  I am overwhelmed by God’s love through my wonderful family, friends and church family!

“Meanwhile, moved by the extravagance of God in your lives, they’ll respond by praying for you in passionate intercession for whatever you need.  Thank God for this gift, his gift.  No language can praise it enough!”  2 Corinthians 9:15  MSG

Waking up the morning before our accident with Chris Tomlin’s song on my heart and mind was no coincidence, it was a gift from God…He lovingly sang it over me to prepare me for the days ahead.

“I lift my hands to believe again, You are my refuge, You are my strength as I pour out my heart, these things I remember You are faithful God, forever.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

