The 4-11

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

discipline 1

Every time I see a small child playing on the side of the road, or heaven forbid in it, I cringe and think…”WHERE IS THAT CHILD’S PARENTS!” 

One of my best good friends told me once, that her Mom always said; “God watches over those little ones that play in the street.”  We had seen a small child with no supervision one day as we were riding in her car.

When my children were little I would freak out when they even thought about getting near the edge of the driveway, much less out into the street!  I would run after them like a banshee screaming and telling them that they were too close to it. “GET BACK HERE!  GET AWAY FROM THE STREET!!!”  I was not only trying to protect them from danger, but teaching them about the danger of the street.  Training them to stay away.

I was never one to let them wander to close, giving them some freedom to explore.  If they disobeyed me, and they were old enough to know better, then they always knew what would be landing on their back side soon.  If you know my kids, (who are now grown) just ask them about me freaking out about stuff…no wait, on second thought that may not be such a good idea…I freaked out about more than just that as they were growing up. (Insert a laugh here)

Something caught my eye in the book of Hebrews one day.  “Only irresponsible parents leave children to fend for themselves.  Would you prefer an irresponsible God?”  Hebrews 12:9 MSG

God being our “Papa God” as I love to refer to Him as, is in all aspects our Father, our Papa God, our Daddy who loves us.  He protects us, and guides us. He loves you more than anything, and loves me more than anything.  And even if you did not have a loving relationship with your earthly father, your Abba Father will never leave you or forsake you. Your Heavenly Father prepares a home, an inheritance for you one day. Your Papa God longs to hold you in His arms and promises to love you throughout eternity.  I can’t imagine having had an earthly father that was anything but, loving and kind and protecting. And I had my fare share of spankings from my earthly Father, that’s for sure! I thank my Papa God for my daddy, who has always been there for his family and showed us the love of my Heavenly Father.

bill

What a thought-provoking question…”Would you prefer an irresponsible God?”  Well…would you?

No thank YOU I would NOT!

What a CrAzY question.

I can honestly say I have never entertained such a thought as this.  Who in their right mind would prefer an irresponsible God to a responsible God?

If you’re a parent, then you know that as a parent your child’s teacher is not to be their only source of education.  We as parents are to educate our children also…the most important education ~ training them up in God.

Paul tells us this; “God is educating you; that’s why you must never drop out.  He’s treating you as dear children.” verse 7  “We respect our own parents for training and not spoiling us, so why not embrace God’s training so we can truly live?” verse 8

“Have you forgotten how good parents treat children, and that God regards you as his children?”  verse 4

Just as a responsible parent disciplines their child, God does the same for us…I didn’t say that God does this to us, I said for us.  Sometimes we look at discipline as something being done to us though. We thought this way as children, and we think this way as adults. Upset, angry, and mad…shrugging off the discipline as unnecessary.

“My dear child, don’t shrug off God’s discipline, but don’t be crushed by it either.  It’s the child he loves that he disciplines; the child he embraces, he also corrects. verse 5

“God is doing what is best for us, training us to live God’s holy best.  At the time , discipline isn’t much fun .  It always feels like it’s going against the grain.  Later, of course, it pays off handsomely, for it’s the well-trained who find themselves mature in their relationship  with God.” verse 1

Remember…our Papa God is doing what’s best for us, always has and always will.  He’s training us for a mature relationship with Him…and remember He’s training us to be His holy best!

The “4-11” of discipline~Hebrews 12:4-11

hugs

The Author

Hey there....so glad you dropped by! My name is Elizabeth Maxwell, but everyone knows me as "Beth." I am the wife to Kevin Maxwell of 35 years. We have 3 grown sons, one daughter-in-law, and our adopted daughter Maria. God laid on our hearts to experience the adoption journey in 2000. Our sweet Maria is special needs and from Bulgaria. God has truly been with us every step of the way on our journey with her. I live in the beautiful foothills state of Tennessee. I love my beautiful Tennessee home. From the foothills to the whippoorwills, God's beauty shines forth here. I love to laugh often. I enjoy old movies, reading books, and I love to sing southern gospel songs, especially the ones with a little bit of country. I love my sweet little job, working with Kindergartners...and yes "kids do say the darndest things!" I am encouraged by God's word and I love to dig into it. I am by no means a scholarly expert, but I do delight in His encouragement for me. I am a friend of God...after all, God's got my back! And not just my back - "He goes before me." (Deuteronomy 31:8) "He's right beside me." (Hebrews 13:5) and, "He surrounds me on every side." (Psalm 125:2) These verses remind me that I am not alone while traveling on this "Journey Called Life!" Won't you travel with me? While on this journey, I may share a recipe, a book, or even a movie or song that I love....but most of all I want to share God's word with you. My prayer is that you will be encouraged, and know that you are not alone on this journey called life!

Leave a Reply

