The Chicken Noodle Soup Jar

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

imageGod can use just about anything to show his love and mercy towards us.  I’ll be the first to admit, I don’t think this is one of my gifts – mercy.  I often kid about it.  But I am working on that, I really am.  I pray that God will use this gift in me.  Some days are just easier to show God’s love and mercy than other days.  Worry, anger, depression, busyness, slothfulness…the list can go on and on, stumbling blocks of human emotions often prevent us from reaching out to others.  I often find myself using any of the above mentioned as an excuse.

Having human emotions is one of the things that make each of us unique.  God made us this way.  But if we are honest with ourselves then we have to admit, sometimes those human emotions get in the way of our ministering with the hands and feet of Jesus.  Not all human emotions are stumbling blocks though.  A lot of good things can be done for people with the right frame of mind that’s backed up with the gentle nudging of the Holy Spirit.  And my friend, we all know when that gentle nudging takes place don’t we?

So if we do something nice and kind for someone does this mean it’s us bringing this goodness to God?  Here’s what Paul has to say about that;  “It’s important that you not misinterpret yourselves as people who are bringing this goodness to God. No, God brings it all to you.  The only accurate way to understand ourselves is by what God is and by what he does for us, not by what we are and what we do for him.”  Romans 12:6 MSG

I just love the book of Romans.  Before the book of Romans starts out in The Message, there’s a preface about the book, and I love this little snippet; “He (Paul) takes logic and argument, poetry and imagination, Scripture and prayer, creation and history and experience, and weaves them into this letter that has become the premier document of Christian theology.”

So what exactly can our Papa God use in and through us to show his love and mercy to others?  How can he use us when we don’t feel like being used sometimes?  “He knows us far better than we know ourselves…and keeps us present before God, that’s why we can be sure that every detail in our lives of love for God is worked into something good.”  Romans 8:28 MSG

image

Hey!  Our Papa God knows how we feel at times, and this is so comforting.  If we are willing to let the Holy Spirit nudge us and take action, we are the ones who will be blessed my friend.  “God’s Spirit beckons.  There are things to do and places to go!”  Romans 8:14 MSG

I have this jar that I have had for years…how many?  Gosh, I don’t even remember when or where I got it.  And I’m not even sure what I got it for, but God knows!  I have been making chicken noodle soup for years, putting it in this jar and delivering it to sick people.  Please don’t think this is anything extraordinary that I do.   And I’ve only done it about five times at the most…but something dawned on me the other day…God is using this jar to minister to people!  Having two jobs out of eight months of the year has not always allowed me to make homemade soup, but when I can I do!  There are a lot of packaged soups out there that are good when you don’t have a lot of time.

Maybe you have a favorite decorative plate or bowl that you fix things in that God can use to minister to people, and don’t worry if you get it back, you will if God wants you to fill it again for someone else.

My chicken noodle soup jar isn’t really all that pretty, I may have even got it to make sun tea come to think of it.

No matter what you have, God can use it and work it into something good.

Here is my homemade chicken noodle soup recipe:

*2-3 packages of Ramon Noodles  (keep the flavor packets to use)

*Chicken breast 1-2 (depending on how much you’re making)

*Chicken broth

*Carrots, onion, celery, salt and pepper to taste

Boil your chicken breasts.  Also boil the ramon noodles according to directions and set flavor pack aside.  Add the boiled chicken cut up, add cut carrots, celery, onions, salt, pepper and flavor pack along with about 1/2 cup of chicken broth, (add more if needed.)  I try to cut the ramon noodles with the edge of a large spoon while in the pot,  (I  don’t really like the long noodles in the soup)  I let this simmer a while.  This is very easy and even better the next day!

image

Leave a Reply

