Take Time To Rest

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

beach 1

God has a goal for me ~ REST!  And to rest in Him.  In my little “Island Hideaway” (my walk-in closet with a beach chair) this is the place I rest.

God’s my island hideaway, keeps danger far from the shore, throws garlands of hosannas around my neck.”  Psalm 32:7 MSG  One of my favorite little verses in Psalms.

I love to go on vacations.  Vacations are meant for relaxing and resting.  My favorite place to go on vacation is the beach.  With my beach chair, snack and a good book, I can park myself toward the ocean and soak in the salt air and sun.  To me there’s nothing like this kind of rest and relaxation.  I don’t have to go see the biggest palm tree, coconut or big ball of seaweed while I’m on the coast.   Just give me the beach please, I can rest there.

So for me, my little “Island Hideaway” helps me relax and come before my Papa God in prayer, thanksgiving, praise and worship on my Pandora station.  I try to block out all distractions. I have my Message version of the bible, my journal, pens, glasses, tissue, and coffee.  But if I go into my hideaway with distractions on my mind, it won’t be such a “restful” time.

I try to go with a mindset of “setting a spell” with Jesus.  I envision Him taking me by the hand and leading me down the beautiful pathways of scripture.  We may stop a while and sit a spell.  Allowing what He has to say to me and soak it in.

Paul tells us in Hebrews that we “receive the same promises as those people in the wilderness, but those promises didn’t do them a bit of good because they didn’t receive the promises with faith.”  Hebrews 4:2 MSG

A promise of resting in him (Jesus) pulls us on to God’s goal for us, we need to be careful that we’re not disqualified though.  I know I don’t want to be disqualified for the goal God has for me! verse 1

“If we believe, though, we’ll experience that state of resting.  But, not if we don’t have faith.” verse 3

rest

God desires for us to rest.  “But I don’t have time for that, who has the time for that?”  Have you ever said or thought that before?  Hey, I have.  Oh, how many times have I said those very words.  Resting is a habit none of us can afford NOT to do.  I’m not talking about actual sleeping or taking a nap, although we do need to do that from time to time.  Our bodies will let us know whenever we need that kind of rest.  I’m talking about resting in God.  Resting in his word, resting in praise and talking with Him.  Giving up your day to him.  Resting in knowing He can handle your day far better than you can.

God was exasperated with the people in the wilderness – “Exasperated, I vowed, They’ll never get where they’re going, never be able to sit down and rest.” Hebrews 4:3 MSG

I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to be compared to as “those people in the wilderness.”  But isn’t that exactly what we feel like when we are exhausted?  Wandering in the wilderness, restless not knowing what we’re doing or where we are going!

“Those earlier ones never did get to the place of rest because they were disobedient.  God keeps renewing the promise and setting the date as today.” verses 6-7

Did you catch that?

God keeps renewing the promise and setting the date as today!

Wow!  I absolutely love that verse.  This is for me, and it’s for you.  It’s for us to REST!  Right now, today.  Rest in Him.  Rest as if your life’s energy depended on it, because it does.

“Today, please listen, don’t turn a deaf ear…And so this is still a live promise.  The promise of “arrival” and “rest” is still there for God’s people.  God himself is rest.”  verses 7-9

God himself is rest.

umberellas

Leave a Reply

