Number-One Advocate and Friend

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

besties

Having a number one advocate and friend surely has it’s advantages, don’t you think?  You may have many different types of friends throughout your lifetime.  Remember that old saying…”There are friends for a season, and friends for a reason”?

There are friendships that I believe are true, and deeply blessed by God.  Those friendships have a common thread running from one heart to another connecting in unity by God himself.

I grew up listening to the bible story of David and Jonathan’s friendship.  When you’re little, at the time you don’t realize the importance of what’s being read or taught.  But nonetheless, if you’ve heard this story like I have, then it stuck with you. You really can’t appreciate the impact of this bible story until you grow up and read it again for yourself.

In the very midst of Saul’s anguish and tormented life of turning his back on God, we see this beautiful bond of friendship start to form between Saul’s son Jonathan and David.

By the time David had finished reporting to Saul, Jonathan was deeply impressed with David ~ an immediate bond was forged between them.  He became totally committed to David.  From that point on he would be David’s number-one advocate and friend.”  1 Samuel 18:1 MSG  From that day on, Saul welcomed David into his household, never to return back home.

Can we just say and agree these two hit it off!  Like immediately.  This was defiantly a “God-Ordained” friendship.

“There is nothing I would not do for those who are really my friends.  I have no notion of loving people by halves, it is not my nature.” ~ Jane Austen

“I would rather walk with a friend in the dark, than alone in the light.” ~ Helen Keller

friends 3

Why did you do all this for me?”  he asked. “I don’t deserve it.  I’ve never done anything for you.” You have been my friend, replied Charlotte. That in itself is a tremendous thing.”  ~ E.B. White

Words are easy, like the wind; Faithful friends are hard to find.” ~ William Shakespeare

“Become friends with God; he’s already a friend with you.”  2 Corinthians 5:20 MSG

The most beautiful friendship you will ever have will be with your heavenly Father!  Your Papa God.  He desires to be your friend.  Not only that, He wants to be your number-one advocate and friend.

The kind of friendship that David and Jonathan had reminds me of the kind that God wants with us.

“Jonathan, out of his deep love for David, made a covenant with him.  He formalized it with solemn gifts: his own royal robe and weapons ~ armor, sword, bow, and belt.”  1 Samuel 18:3-4 MSG

“I delight greatly in the Lord; my soul rejoices in my God.  For he has clothed me with garments of salvation and arrayed me in a robe of his righteousness.”  Isaiah 61:10 NIV

Not only does He have a royal robe for us, He has something else also. Just like Jonathan giving David his weapons, armor, sword, bow and belt.  God wants that for us too.

“Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.  Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace.  In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one.  Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.”  Ephesians 6:13-17 NIV

I have never really connected this beautiful God-ordained friendship to that of our friendship with God.  But think about.  Go back and read this passage in 1 Samuel.  What a precious story of a friendship woven together by God’s love.  Jonathan’s heart to David’s heart.  Our heart to God’s heart.

“Though the mountains be shaken and the hills be removed, yet my unfailing love for you will not be shaken nor my covenant of peace be removed, says the Lord who has compassion on you.”  Isaiah 54:10 NIV

old besties

The Author

Hey there....so glad you dropped by! My name is Elizabeth Maxwell, but everyone knows me as "Beth." I am the wife to Kevin Maxwell of 35 years. We have 3 grown sons, one daughter-in-law, and our adopted daughter Maria. God laid on our hearts to experience the adoption journey in 2000. Our sweet Maria is special needs and from Bulgaria. God has truly been with us every step of the way on our journey with her. I live in the beautiful foothills state of Tennessee. I love my beautiful Tennessee home. From the foothills to the whippoorwills, God's beauty shines forth here. I love to laugh often. I enjoy old movies, reading books, and I love to sing southern gospel songs, especially the ones with a little bit of country. I love my sweet little job, working with Kindergartners...and yes "kids do say the darndest things!" I am encouraged by God's word and I love to dig into it. I am by no means a scholarly expert, but I do delight in His encouragement for me. I am a friend of God...after all, God's got my back! And not just my back - "He goes before me." (Deuteronomy 31:8) "He's right beside me." (Hebrews 13:5) and, "He surrounds me on every side." (Psalm 125:2) These verses remind me that I am not alone while traveling on this "Journey Called Life!" Won't you travel with me? While on this journey, I may share a recipe, a book, or even a movie or song that I love....but most of all I want to share God's word with you. My prayer is that you will be encouraged, and know that you are not alone on this journey called life!

Leave a Reply

