Not One Is Missing, Not One Forgotten

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

not one

I love how 1 Peter starts out in the New Testament…

“I, Peter, am an apostle on assignment by Jesus, the Messiah, writing to exiles scattered to the four winds. Not one is missing, not one forgotten.” 1 Peter 1:1 MSG

If I had happened to be one of those “exiles scattered to the four winds”, and had read this from Peter, it would have been such an encouragement to me…especially the part of “not one is missing, not one forgotten.”  But you know what?  This applies to us today also.  Consider yourselves an exile scattered to the four winds, and know that you are not missing and not forgotten!

In 2 Peter, he is also reminding those scattered…”This is the post to which I’ve been assigned – keeping you alert with frequent reminders.”  Peter knew he was to die soon, and felt the urgency to tell the exiles to stay alert.  “I’m sticking to it as long as I live.  I know that I’m to die soon; the Master has made that quiet clear to me.  And so I am especially eager that you have all this down in black and white so that after I die, you’ll have it for ready reference.” 2 Peter 1:12-15 MSG

Peter’s firsthand experience in his personal relationship with Jesus was what he wanted to let everyone know about, to let them and us, in on a beautifully friendship with a loving Lord and Savior.

“We weren’t, you know, just wishing on a star when we laid the facts out before you regarding the powerful return of our Master, Jesus Christ.  We were there for the preview!  We saw it with our own eyes:  Jesus resplendent with light from God the Father as the voice of Majestic Glory spoke; ‘This is my Son, marked by my love, focus of all my delight.’ We were there on the holy mountain with him.  We heard the voice out of heaven with our very own ears.”

“We couldn’t be more sure of what we saw and heard – God’s glory, God’s voice.  The prophetic Word was confirmed to us.  You’ll do well to keep focusing on it.  It’s the one light you have in a dark time as you wait for daybreak and the rising of the Morning Star in your hearts.”  2 Peter 16-20 MSG

God’s glory, God’s voice ~ You’ll do well to keep focusing on it.  It’s the one light you have in a dark time…

We are called to be light to a dark world, but sometimes we are in a “dark time” ourselves.  An encouraging word for us, from God’s word through Peter ~ keep focusing on God’s glory and God’s voice in the dark times of your life.  We have a mindset that it’s too hard to be a light when we are going through those dark times too.  Keep focusing on God’s glory and his voice, and his light will continue to shine in you and through you.

light

 

 

The Author

Hey there....so glad you dropped by! My name is Elizabeth Maxwell, but everyone knows me as "Beth." I am the wife to Kevin Maxwell of 35 years. We have 3 grown sons, one daughter-in-law, and our adopted daughter Maria. God laid on our hearts to experience the adoption journey in 2000. Our sweet Maria is special needs and from Bulgaria. God has truly been with us every step of the way on our journey with her. I live in the beautiful foothills state of Tennessee. I love my beautiful Tennessee home. From the foothills to the whippoorwills, God's beauty shines forth here. I love to laugh often. I enjoy old movies, reading books, and I love to sing southern gospel songs, especially the ones with a little bit of country. I love my sweet little job, working with Kindergartners...and yes "kids do say the darndest things!" I am encouraged by God's word and I love to dig into it. I am by no means a scholarly expert, but I do delight in His encouragement for me. I am a friend of God...after all, God's got my back! And not just my back - "He goes before me." (Deuteronomy 31:8) "He's right beside me." (Hebrews 13:5) and, "He surrounds me on every side." (Psalm 125:2) These verses remind me that I am not alone while traveling on this "Journey Called Life!" Won't you travel with me? While on this journey, I may share a recipe, a book, or even a movie or song that I love....but most of all I want to share God's word with you. My prayer is that you will be encouraged, and know that you are not alone on this journey called life!

Leave a Reply

