Exercising Intentions

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

20140122-220957.jpg

I may have good ‘intentions’ to improve on things for myself, but if that’s all I have just ‘intentions’, then that’s all I’ve got.

I know I need to eat right…and yes the dreaded…hang on here it comes–EXERCISE!!–Ouch! I said that awful word!   I confess, I need to do this!  I’ve gotten out of the habit of exercising for a few months, which is a very easy thing to do by the way.  I know it’s a good thing for me , both mentally and physically.  And I always feel better when I make the choice to exercise.

What works best for me is to pop in a Leslie Sansone DVD.  In the privacy of my home I can exercise. “I like to sweat”, “Where’s that heart rate going!” and “That happy news is coming!” (happy news-ending of one mile!) …I can hear her now in that bubbly cheery voice of hers. (I really do like her, she’s not the ‘brow-beating’ type!) I know this works for me, it has in the past.

Here’s what not works for me….getting another one of her new exercise DVD’s, letting it lay around a while, and just looking at it each time I pass by.  I have to think about it a while and mentally work myself into it.  Is anybody else like this?  Or am I the only weirdo who does this?    Does this really help me exercise?  Nope. Not one bit. If I continue to just hold the ‘idea’ or the ‘sentiment’ in my head of exercising…no way, and no how is this a benefit for me. I am not going to get in shape either mentally or physically.  It’s all about a choice I have to make.

I love what Paul has to say in his letter to the Galatian churches.  Which happens to be for us for us also.  I love to personalize scripture, so I will put myself in the parentheses.

“Since this is the kind of life we (I) have chosen, the life of the Spirit, let us (me) make sure that we (I) do not hold it as an idea in our (my) (head)s or a sentiment in our (my) (heart)s but work out its implications in every detail of (my life) our lives. That means we (I) will not compare ourselves (myself) with each other as if one of us were better and another worse. We (I) have far more interesting things to do with our lives (my life.) Each of us is (I am) an original.” Galatians 5:25-26 MSG

If we have chosen to live a life by the Holy Spirit…then we can’t just go around and hold it as an ‘idea’ or ‘sentiment’ in our hearts.  And I confess now,  I catch myself doing this many times. Much like holding the ‘idea’ of exercising in my head – if I don’t actually exercise I will never receive any of the benefits.

I’m also guilty of comparing myself with others….It’s so easy to do.  But my walk with God may look different from someone else’s walk.

“God judges persons differently than humans do.  Men and women look at the face; God looks into the heart.” 1 Samuel 16:7 MSG.  

I am an original.  God doesn’t want us all to be just alike.  We are all originals.  The enemy can do a number on us using this tactic, but greater is He that is in me.

If I don’t actually work out the Holy Spirit’s implications in every detail of my life and just hold it as an idea or sentiment, how could I ever share and enjoy God’s benefits or gifts?

It’s a choice, to live God’s way.  

Listen to what Paul tells us in Galatians 5:22-23 MSG. “….what happens when we live God’s way? He brings gifts into our lives, much the same way that fruit appears in an orchard ~ things like affection for others, exuberance about life, serenity.  We develop a willingness to stick with things, a sense of compassion in the heart, and a conviction that a basic holiness permeates things and people. We find ourselves involved in loyal commitments, not needing to force our way in life, able to marshal and direct our energies wisely.”

Thank you Papa God, this is such an encouraging word for me!

20140118-173730.jpg

The Author

Hey there....so glad you dropped by! My name is Elizabeth Maxwell, but everyone knows me as "Beth." I am the wife to Kevin Maxwell of 35 years. We have 3 grown sons, one daughter-in-law, and our adopted daughter Maria. God laid on our hearts to experience the adoption journey in 2000. Our sweet Maria is special needs and from Bulgaria. God has truly been with us every step of the way on our journey with her. I live in the beautiful foothills state of Tennessee. I love my beautiful Tennessee home. From the foothills to the whippoorwills, God's beauty shines forth here. I love to laugh often. I enjoy old movies, reading books, and I love to sing southern gospel songs, especially the ones with a little bit of country. I love my sweet little job, working with Kindergartners...and yes "kids do say the darndest things!" I am encouraged by God's word and I love to dig into it. I am by no means a scholarly expert, but I do delight in His encouragement for me. I am a friend of God...after all, God's got my back! And not just my back - "He goes before me." (Deuteronomy 31:8) "He's right beside me." (Hebrews 13:5) and, "He surrounds me on every side." (Psalm 125:2) These verses remind me that I am not alone while traveling on this "Journey Called Life!" Won't you travel with me? While on this journey, I may share a recipe, a book, or even a movie or song that I love....but most of all I want to share God's word with you. My prayer is that you will be encouraged, and know that you are not alone on this journey called life!

Leave a Reply

