A God-Listening Heart That Fades Away

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

frame heart

Early in King Solomon’s career, he told God that he wanted a “God-listening” heart.  He knew God, he loved God.  He even said, that he wanted to discern the difference between good and evil.  So what in the world happened?  His “God-listening” heart faded away.

Remember, that God was delighted in Solomon saying he wanted a “God-listening” heart, and wisdom, but God also had something very important to say to him….”And if you stay the course, keeping your eye on the life-map and the God-signs as your father David did, I’ll also give you a long life.” 1 Kings 3:14 MSG

If…

If – In the event that.  Allowing that.  On the assumption that.  On the condition that.

I believe that Solomon loved God, but something happened along the way. He became busy and consumed by building his kingdom.  He collected great wealth and power.  Wives were among the many collections that he had.  “He had seven hundred royal wives and three hundred concubines – a thousand women in all!” (Whew..that’s a lot of hormones.)

“God had clearly warned Israel, you must not marry them; (foreign women surrounding pagan nations) they’ll seduce you into infatuations with their gods.”  Solomon fell in love with them anyway, refusing to give them up.  And they did seduce him away from God. As Solomon grew older, his wives beguiled him with their alien gods and he became unfaithful – he didn’t stay true to his God as his father David had done. Solomon openly defied God.”  1 Kings 11:1-6 MSG

Solomon loved God early in his career, just as his father before him did. In his accumulation of wealth, power and fame, he took his eyes off of God.  He was seduced by the things of the world.  He became unfaithful – he didn’t stay true to his God.

“God was furious with Solomon for abandoning the God of Israel…God said to Solomon, “Since this is the way it is with you, that you have no intention of keeping faith with me and doing what I have commanded, I’m going to rip the kingdom from you and hand it over to someone else.  But out of respect for your father David I won’t do it in your lifetime.  It’s you son who will pay.  I’ll rip it right out of his grasp.  Even then I won’t take it all; I’ll leave him one tribe in honor of my servant David and out of respect for my chosen city Jerusalem.”  1 Kings 11:9-13 MSG

David’s “God-listening” never faded away ~ out of respect for your father David, in honor of my servant David.

How can someone early on say, “Give me a God-listening heart”, then turn completely away from that?  It can be so easy.  We can take our eyes off of God for many reasons…I know that I have many times.

When we read just how wealthy and powerful Solomon became, it sounded like there was very little time for God anymore.  In his busyness for the things of the world his “God-listening” heart faded away.

“The revelation of God is whole and pulls our lives together.  The signposts of God are clear and point out the right road.  The life-maps of God are right, showing the way to joy.  The directions of God are plain and easy on the eyes.  There’s more:  God’s word warns us of danger and directs us of hidden treasure.  Otherwise how will we find our way?  Or know when we play the fool?  Clean the slate, God, so we can start the day fresh!  Keep me from stupid sins, from thinking I can take over your work;  Then I can start this day sun-washed, scrubbed clean of the grime of sin.”  Psalm 19:7-8,11-14 MSG

Solomon should have taken to his heart the words his father David poured out to God!

I’m so thankful, that through God’s son Jesus, He can wipe our slates clean!  We can start the day fresh…Thank you Jesus!  Keep us from stupid sins so our “God-listening” heart won’t fade away.

heart flower

The Author

Hey there....so glad you dropped by! My name is Elizabeth Maxwell, but everyone knows me as "Beth." I am the wife to Kevin Maxwell of 35 years. We have 3 grown sons, one daughter-in-law, and our adopted daughter Maria. God laid on our hearts to experience the adoption journey in 2000. Our sweet Maria is special needs and from Bulgaria. God has truly been with us every step of the way on our journey with her. I live in the beautiful foothills state of Tennessee. I love my beautiful Tennessee home. From the foothills to the whippoorwills, God's beauty shines forth here. I love to laugh often. I enjoy old movies, reading books, and I love to sing southern gospel songs, especially the ones with a little bit of country. I love my sweet little job, working with Kindergartners...and yes "kids do say the darndest things!" I am encouraged by God's word and I love to dig into it. I am by no means a scholarly expert, but I do delight in His encouragement for me. I am a friend of God...after all, God's got my back! And not just my back - "He goes before me." (Deuteronomy 31:8) "He's right beside me." (Hebrews 13:5) and, "He surrounds me on every side." (Psalm 125:2) These verses remind me that I am not alone while traveling on this "Journey Called Life!" Won't you travel with me? While on this journey, I may share a recipe, a book, or even a movie or song that I love....but most of all I want to share God's word with you. My prayer is that you will be encouraged, and know that you are not alone on this journey called life!

Leave a Reply

