God-listening Heart

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

listeningWe all want to be smart and wise.  Don’t we?  We all have that desire.  But sometimes we can get so caught up in trying to find the “right” answer about something, that we can’t see the forest for the trees.

I want to be smart.  I want the right answer about things.  My O. C. D. tendencies kick in, and a lot of times I seek the wrong place for the right answer.  We could do ourselves a huge favor and go to the one true source for that right answer when we first start looking for it.

After King David died and his son Solomon was made King,  “God appeared to Solomon in a dream: God said, “what can I give you? Ask.”  1 Kings 3:5 MSG

If God came to you in a dream and asked that same question, what would be your response?  What would be my response?  This is Solomon’s response:

“You were extravagantly generous in love with David my father, and he lived faithfully in your presence, his relationships were just and his heart right.  And you have persisted in this great and generous love by giving him ~ and this very day! ~ a son to sit on his throne.”  Solomon goes on to say, “I’m too young for this, a mere child!  I don’t know the ropes, hardly know the “ins” and “outs” of this job.”

Have you ever felt like this before?  Boy, I sure have!

Solomon gets right to the point.  “Here’s what I want:  Give me a God-listening heart so I can lead your people well, discerning the difference between good and evil.  For who on their own is capable of leading your glorious people?”

Give me a God-listening heart.

Once again, God has taken his highlighter and has shown me this beautiful part of his word, to tuck it away in my heart and mind.

Solomon was like his father David, open and honest before God.  “God, the Master was delighted with Solomon’s response.”  Would God be delighted with our response?  And God’s response ~ “I’m giving you a wise and mature heart.  There’s never been one like you before; and there’ll be no one after.”  As a bonus, God gave him both wealth and glory, because he didn’t ask for that.  “And if you stay on course, keeping your eye on the life-map and God-signs as your father David did, I’ll also give you a long life.”  1 Kings 3:7-14 MSG

Oh, that I would have a “God-listening heart“, and keep my eye on the “life-maps” and the “God-signs.”

David left behind a legacy of love for God to his son Solomon.  Solomon was smart enough to realize this, and also smart enough to know what to ask for from God.

Here’s what I want God – “Give me a God-listening heart!” ~ Beth

heart listen

Leave a Reply

